Question about DCs of crafted items


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I asked a question a few weeks ago about scrolls and wands. If you make a scroll or wand yourself, it uses (up to) your caster level, and your ability score to determine DCs, but not your feats except for metamagics in scrolls, right?

How about for other items? Say, an amulet that has the ability to cast Charm person once per day, if I make it myself, does it use my ability score for the DC, or does it use the minimum?


Not quite.
By default, scrolls use the MINIMUM caster level the spell can be cast at. It also uses the MINIMUM ability score needed to cast that spell.

So say a 3rd level spell, that needs CL 5, and an ability score of 13 (+1) to cast.
DC is 10 + 3 (level of spell) + 1 (for 13 int/wis/cha) = 14

You can raise the casterlevel when making scrolls and wands (and increase the price) but that does not affect the DC, it just affects the spell itself.

A scroll of CLW for example by default is 1st level, CL 1 and heals 1d8+1. If created at CL 3 it heals 1d8+3, but still has the same DC.

Obviously you can create a heightened version of the spell, to increase the DC, which then increases spell level, minimum caster level and minimum ability score.
So say that 3rd level spell from above gets heightened to 4th level, then it needs an ability score of 14. Now the DC is 16 (10+4+2).

Staves are different as they use the users actual CL and ability score at the time of casting.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Quatar wrote:

Not quite.

By default, scrolls use the MINIMUM caster level the spell can be cast at. It also uses the MINIMUM ability score needed to cast that spell.

So say a 3rd level spell, that needs CL 5, and an ability score of 13 (+1) to cast.
DC is 10 + 3 (level of spell) + 1 (for 13 int/wis/cha) = 14

You can raise the casterlevel when making scrolls and wands (and increase the price) but that does not affect the DC, it just affects the spell itself.

A scroll of CLW for example by default is 1st level, CL 1 and heals 1d8+1. If created at CL 3 it heals 1d8+3, but still has the same DC.

Obviously you can create a heightened version of the spell, to increase the DC, which then increases spell level, minimum caster level and minimum ability score.
So say that 3rd level spell from above gets heightened to 4th level, then it needs an ability score of 14. Now the DC is 16 (10+4+2).

Staves are different as they use the users actual CL and ability score at the time of casting.

Alright, but what about wondrous items? Like the pentacle of asmodeus? it has charm person once per day, Can you increase the DC or the caster level if you craft it?


I pretty sure you can't do that by RAW.
The GM may allow it, but should adjust the price for the item then.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about DCs of crafted items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions