What kind of action is it to ready an action?


Rules Questions


Title says it all I was wondering if you could take a Free action or swift action before you ready an action?


Readying an action is a standard action.

Quote:
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).


Its a standard so you could use them before you readied as far as i know you can use free and no-actions like Quick draw and 5 foot step when the readied action was triggered.


Ready Action SRD

Quote:
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).
Quote:
You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action.

It counts as your standard, and you can ready 1 and only 1 action.

The exception to the rule.

Quote:
You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.

So RAW, I don't believe you can use an additional free/swift actions unless they are automatic(or triggered) from the action you took by readying

(triggered here meaning you have some ability text that reads "when you" -typically)


Quote:
Its a standard so you could use them before you readied as far as i know you can use free and no-actions like Quick draw and 5 foot step when the readied action was triggered.

Free actions can only be used on your turn(ie initiative)

"not an action"s typically are made as part of another action

Pretty sure this disallows quick draw by RAW, but I don't find it unreasonable to allow it (kinda seems like you should have your weapon out anyway though)


Thanks a lot I'm trying to test using Quicken Spell to cast a spell and than readying an action to defend and counter spell.


You can definitely take a move/swift action on your turn PRIOR to setting up the ready.(which is only standard)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What kind of action is it to ready an action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.