Summoning devils...rules about success


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

What needs to be done when summoning this devil:?

Devil, Gelugon (Ice Devil)

I thought when a summon spell was cast and successful, the creature appeared and began his turn.

However, in the description for the devil, it says, "Gelugons can prove notoriously difficult to summon, as little might tempt them away from their ongoing machinations. Those who offer an exchange of services, a promise to enact the fiend's will, whatever it might be, gain a +2 bonus on Charisma checks made to summon an ice devil. Should a summoner try to go back on his word to perform a task for a gelugon, though, the devil might dedicate a portion of its resources to painfully force the summoner to keep his word."

The text mentions a CHA check to summon...where did this come from? i can't find anywhere that mentions checks to summon...

Liberty's Edge

Look at Planar Binding. Which is assumed to be how you summon a Gelugon (at least, for anything other than straight combat).

If you're using Summon Monster IX, you're only getting it for a few rounds (okay, a bunch of rounds, but still less than two minutes), it can't be permanently killed, and you should feel free to ignore that text.


It might be referring to Planar Binding and its kin.

Grand Lodge

When you're using a calling spell to summon any creature, you're going to be spending a MINIMUM of one round sealing a deal for it's services.

Calling Spells are a different kettle of fish compared to Summon Monster. The text you're thinking of refers to calling Outsiders for longer term service.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoning devils...rules about success All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions