Scribe Scroll


Rules Questions


OK, as a noob to making magic items, I'm trying to learn this stuff. I understand that you have to know the spell in order to scribe a scroll of it. That part is clear. What I'm having trouble with is conflicting information. Being new to scroll creation, I've got one person telling me it takes up a spell slot, and another saying you just need to know the spell. Is it like preparing a spell? Do I use a spell slot to make a scroll? Also, how does it work for some one like the artificer, whom doesn't have daily spells?

Scarab Sages

You must have the spell prepared that day in order to scribe it on a scroll. Scribing the scroll burns the spell from your list of prepared spells. A spontaneous caster loses one spell for the day from the appropriate level after scribing a scroll. Either caster must know the spell in question, either by having it in his spellbook and memorizing it that day or, for spontaneous casters, by having the spell in his list of spells known. I'm not familiar with the artificer class, so can't advise you about the particulars for that class.

Dark Archive

Sparx wrote:
Also, how does it work for some one like the artificer, whom doesn't have daily spells?

He has special rules in the artificer class description, he just needs to make a Craft DC20+spell level check.

What isn't immediately evident though is what happens if he fails the roll. Does he waste the materials and time for that day? or that item? or something else?


Yeah, I think I he just wastes the materials. How about word magic? That functions the same?


What source are you using for the Artificer? I was under the impression it hadn't (and likely never will) been converted to Pathfinder.

In general, though, you'll probably have to refer to the Artificer's description, wherever you're getting it from.

Scarab Sages

On page 548 of the CRB it says that failing the check to create a magic item means that the item does not function, that the materials and time are wasted. Only one check is made per item.


I'm using it from the pathfinder OGC, with slight modifications from my DM. And yeah, I had missed that part bout the craft check. It's what I get for not reading it like I'm supposed to.

Word magic still confuses me.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Scribe Scroll All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions