Giant frog grappling and 'pull'


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Giant Frogs have a tongue with 15ft reach that can be used to grab; the grab allows the frog to grapple as a free action (Bestiary pp135, 301). Well and good. The grapple rules in the Core Rulebook (p200) say "If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space".

The Frog also has the pull special attack, which according to the Frog's stat block and the UMR, means it can choose to make a free combat maneuver check to move the grappled creature 5 feet closer. This would seem to be useless if the creature is already adjacent, as the Core Rulebook would suggest, and can't move (p567).

How should I interpret these rules? Am I reading the Core Rulebook incorrectly?


My interpretation:

It's not entirely useless, but the Pull special attack does seem pretty redundant.

Pull actually has nothing to do with grappling or grab. Pull is a separate ability that allows the Giant Frog to make a special combat maneuver check for free on a successful attack with its tongue to move the target of its attack 5 ft closer.

Grab allows the Giant Frog to initiate a grapple as a free action with a +4 bonus on a successful attack with its tongue. Successfully initiating a grapple moves the target of your grapple adjacent to you.

On a successful attack, the giant frog can choose to use one, neither, or both of the above special attacks.

Obviously, Grab is the superior ability, and if the Grab attempt succeeds, also attempting a Pull is pointless. But in the event that the Grab fails, nothing in the RAW is stopping the Giant Frog from also attempting to use Pull.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Giant frog grappling and 'pull' All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions