Familiars and Handle Animals


Rules Questions


I'm looking at playing a Druid (well technically a Monk/Druid) and at selecting a domain for my Nature's Bond that includes a familiar as part of the domain abilities (likely Eagle Domain though I'm also looking at Monkey Domain)

In either case my question is:

Do I need to use Handle Animals to control my familiar?

Do Wizards need to do this? (it seems odd that they would as Handle Animal isn't a Wizard class skill)

I understand that if I had an Animal Companion instead of a Familiar that I would need to use Handle Animals to get the animal to do certain things (depending on what training the animal had) but aren't Familiars magical creatures with far higher intelligences and other abilities than regular animals (even animal companions)?

This character is specifically for PFS but I'm curious about this as well for non-PFS play.

thanks!

Grand Lodge

No, familiars are magical beasts capable complex thought and no need for handle animal is necessary. It is the plus side to familiars.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Familiars and Handle Animals All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions