Dimension Door Passengers and Grapple


Rules Questions


Party Wizard has a hand on Party Cleric. Monster With Grab has successfully attacked and then successfully grappled Party Cleric. Party Wizard casts Dimension Door and wishes to take Party Cleric along without taking Monster With Grab along.

1. Does Dimension Door allow this "get out of grapple free" card? Or does the Wizard have to take both or neither? Does the monster's willingness or unwillingness to go with the Dimension Door matter at all?

2. What if the situation were reversed and the Cleric had grappled the monster? Can the willing Cleric forcibly drag a grappled but unwilling monster along for a Dimension Door ride?

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

  • (Case 1) Yes, Dimension Door allows the "get out of grapple free" card. You aren't required to bring along things/creatures that you touch.
    PRD (emphasis mine) wrote:
    You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels.
  • (Case 2) No, the cleric can't drag the monster along, unless the monster decided to be a willing target of Dimension Door.
    PRD wrote:
    Target: you and touched objects or other touched willing creatures

  • Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dimension Door Passengers and Grapple All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.
    Recent threads in Rules Questions