Spell Combat


Rules Questions


I am not sure if this has been asked before, but I just started playing Pathfinder, and my first character was a Magus, and the DM had a question about Spell Combat I could not figure out correctly.

If in Range, does Spell Combat take an AOO?
And Secondly, and i think it will be answered with just some common sense on my part, Does SpellStrike take an AOO to cast on your weapon?


Osteo wrote:

I am not sure if this has been asked before, but I just started playing Pathfinder, and my first character was a Magus, and the DM had a question about Spell Combat I could not figure out correctly.

If in Range, does Spell Combat take an AOO?
And Secondly, and i think it will be answered with just some common sense on my part, Does SpellStrike take an AOO to cast on your weapon?

When you cast a spell you provoke an AOO unless you do so defensively.

It doesn't matter if this casting is part of spell combat, or if you plan to use spellstrike to deliver the spell once cast.

-James


Thanks, thats what we gathered, but I thought about asking, since it functions like twf but with a spell, then he would not take the AOO. Or at least that was my argument. Though now I know for when our group meets again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions