
Mabven the OP healer |

A DC can refer to saves, skill checks, ability checks, caster level checks, and probably other things I am not thinking of.
You are probably just missing what type of check/save they are referring to. Take a second look at them, and look for phrases like "if the character misses a DC (number) (ability/skill/caster level, will/fort/ref save), they are affected by (some penalty, damage, status ailment)."

![]() |

There should be something available from the context. If it is a skill check or ability check, then it should be specified. If it references a spell, then the nature of the save is specified in the referenced spell listing. If a trap, then in the trap stat block, if the special ability of a creature, then in the creature stat block, etc.
If you provide a specific example (text, not just page reference), it may be easier to provide some guidance. Use spoiler blocks if appropriate.

![]() |

Do you have an example?
Usually when an effect is listed with just a number for the DC, it's because the effect is defined somewhere in the Core Rulebook or the Bestiary.
Check the Universal Monster Rules (Link) and see if the effect is listed there, if so it should tell you what save to roll.
To my knowledge, there are no "just roll a d20" type saves in Pathfinder. You always add your Fort, Ref, or Will to the save.