Channel smite and granted channel


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can pcs with the Aquatic or Swamp Domain, take the Channel Smite feat?
If yes, or no, why?

Grand Lodge

No opinions?


By RAW, no, because you don't have the Channel Energy class feature (you have the or Sealord or Natural Healing class feature, respectively.)

As a GM, I'd still say no, because Sealord and Natural Healing don't have any normal effect on undead, so I don't see why they'd gain one just by picking up Channel Smite.


I could see some GMs allowing it however, but only against undead versions of the creatures you're specifically allowed to heal.

Grand Lodge

The thing is, it states like the cleric ability. I would not even ask had that not been in there.


To that, I would point out that SLAs work "like spells" but are not, in fact, spells.
Same argument I'd use here.

Grand Lodge

That is a different discussion. Please stay on topic please.


I am on topic, as it's a relevant comparison.
Maybe not the answer you're looking for, but valid none-the-less. ;)

Grand Lodge

Well, in many ways SLAs are like spells, and in many ways the channel energy granted by some Terrain Domains‎ are like a cleric's channel. In this case, is it fitting as a prerequisite for this feat?


SLAs are not relevant because channel energy and abilities granted by the terrain domains are both supernatural abilities and the wording in the sections treats them as identical except for the listed exemptions.

The only evidence I can see against the notion is that possible assertion that channel smite alters the effect as elemental channel. However if that is not assumed to be the case then I would think that it could work, dm permission necessary, but as stated above only against undead versions of what you could heal with it.

Grand Lodge

Seems a balanced approach.


No this wouldn't work. The channeling granted by the Aquatic and Swamp domains doesn't let you harm anything- only heal or command. Channel Smite is all about doing damage. So Channel Smite would definitely constitute as "altering the ability," which is forbidden.

Now if the Aquatic domain had the option to heal water creatures or harm fire based creatures, then I could see allowing Channel Smite to add damage against fire creatures. But it doesn't, so it doesn't work.

Grand Lodge

Could you still qualify for the feat, even if you could not use the feat?

Grand Lodge

Necromancy! Has anyone heard an answer to this question? If not, I would greatly appreciate people hitting the FAQ button on OP. Thank you.

Grand Lodge

No hits?

Grand Lodge

Well, I got a direct answer from James Jacobs, and he says it should work just fine.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channel smite and granted channel All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions