Wolf animal companion and multiple trips


Rules Questions


I have a character that has advanced past level 9 with a wolf animal companion, giving the wolf the multiattack ability and thus a second attack at a -5 penalty.

Spoiler:

Multiattack

An animal companion gains Multiattack as a bonus feat if it has three or more natural attacks and does not already have that feat. If it does not have the requisite three or more natural attacks, the animal companion instead gains a second attack with its primary natural weapon, albeit at a –5 penalty.

The wolf has the trip ability on its bite which works like the following according to the universal monster rules.

Spoiler:

Trip (Ex) A creature with the trip special attack can attempt to trip its opponent as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity if it hits with the specified attack. If the attempt fails, the creature is not tripped in return.

Format: trip (bite); Location: individual attacks.

Two questions:

1) If the wolf takes a full-attack action and hits with his second bite attack does he take a -5 penalty to CMB on the trip attempt? (I would guess no, as the trip is a free action that seems to be made "outside" of the iterative attacks).

2) If the wolf had a permanent greater magic fang +5 cast upon his bite, could he add the +5 to the trip attempt? (I would guess yes, as the wolf can make the free action trip attempt with any weapon, including his bite).


bigmac44 wrote:

I have a character that has advanced past level 9 with a wolf animal companion, giving the wolf the multiattack ability and thus a second attack at a -5 penalty.

** spoiler omitted **

The wolf has the trip ability on its bite which works like the following according to the universal monster rules.

** spoiler omitted **

Two questions:

1) If the wolf takes a full-attack action and hits with his second bite attack does he take a -5 penalty to CMB on the trip attempt? (I would guess no, as the trip is a free action that seems to be made "outside" of the iterative attacks).

2) If the wolf had a permanent greater magic fang +5 cast upon his bite, could he add the +5 to the trip attempt? (I would guess yes, as the wolf can make the free action trip attempt with any weapon, including his bite).

The answer to both is no. You use the CMB roll which is BAB + STR. The highest BAB is used when determining the roll for a CMB.

However, a spell that affects attack rolls, such as true strike, will add a bonus to the CMB roll.

Liberty's Edge

The answer to both is yes, actually. The CMB attack to trip is made with the same modifiers (in this case a -5) as the attack that gave the trip attempt. And, of course, that also includes the modifiers from magical bonuses, like the +5 from Greater Magic Fang.


PF SRD wrote:
When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action.

Callarek is correct.


Agreed. It is yes to both.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wolf animal companion and multiple trips All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions