Fire Snake


Rules Questions


The spell reads like this:

You create a sinuous line of flames that you may shape as desired. The fire snake affects one 5-foot square per caster level, and each square must be adjacent to the previous square, starting with you. The fire snake may not extend beyond its maximum range. Creatures in the path of the fire snake take 1d6 points of fire damage per caster level (maximum 15d6).

It also shows that it has a range of 60'.

If the path of the Fire Snake takes it through a square more than once, does the creature(s) in that square take the damage more than once?

Also, the way it is worded, would Extend Spell extend its range out to 120' or double the number of squares you can affect with it?


I think you mean enlarge spell, which doubled range. Extend spell doubles duration.


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
I think you mean enlarge spell, which doubled range. Extend spell doubles duration.

Of course, thank you.

And shouldn't a 'coffee golem' technically be made out of coffee?


Wiggz wrote:
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
I think you mean enlarge spell, which doubled range. Extend spell doubles duration.

Of course, thank you.

And shouldn't a 'coffee golem' technically be made out of coffee?

Golem for coffee, not of coffee.

Is a coffee pot made out of coffee? ;-)


In response to your actual question:

I think enlarge would effectively double the fire snakes length.

However, as with wall of fire I think you couldn't cause double damage for crossing the same square twice. That square is already on fire, kinda hard to set it on fire again.

Scarab Sages

Creatures in the path of the fire snake take 1d6 points of...

They only take damage once. Why? It doesn't matter how many times the snake is applied to a square. If the character is in the path, whether it's by one square application, or three square applications, it doesn't change the result. It's yes/no. If yes, 1d6/caster level. Yes three times still equals yes, and still equals a total of 1d6/caster level.

Enlarge Spell (Metamagic)
You can increase the range of your spells.

Benefit: You can alter a spell with a range of close, medium, or long to increase its range by 100%.

You increase range only, not the number of squares that it can cover.

I don't think widen spell would help either :/


Wiggz wrote:

The spell reads like this:

You create a sinuous line of flames that you may shape as desired. The fire snake affects one 5-foot square per caster level, and each square must be adjacent to the previous square, starting with you. The fire snake may not extend beyond its maximum range. Creatures in the path of the fire snake take 1d6 points of fire damage per caster level (maximum 15d6).

It also shows that it has a range of 60'.

If the path of the Fire Snake takes it through a square more than once, does the creature(s) in that square take the damage more than once?

Also, the way it is worded, would Extend Spell extend its range out to 120' or double the number of squares you can affect with it?

Bolded what I consider the important part. You are either in the path or you are not. You don't take double damage for being in the path twice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fire Snake All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions