Casting while in Controlled Rage


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi there. I'm making a new character again after my old one got one-shotted by a level inappropriate encounter and an idea occured to me to make a magus (bow focused) while taking a dip in Urban Barbarian to get a quick boost from a focued rage to my Dex.

However, there is something I would like to clear up: can a Urban Barbarian cast while in rage?

Here is the relevant quote:

Quote:
When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage.

Technically, the part about being able to concentrate has been left out, but it clearly states that an Intelligence based skill is still usable.

I'm pretty sure that the arcane pool would still be useful, as it is a class ability and nothing says that you can't, but if anyone has seen a ruling on this I would appreciate it.


It seems legal to me, but how do you plan to make a bow focused magus work since its abilities are made to support melee?


"While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration."
I think casting a spell requires patience and concentration...


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
AerynTahlro wrote:

"While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration."

I think casting a spell requires patience and concentration...

We direct you to the clearly stated fact that the OP is using the Urban Barbarian, whose Controlled Rage includes the description:

"When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage."


First, I was thinking about using the Soul Forger archetype, making a bow my focus and having that function as a way to channel touch spells. The DM for this game gives some leeway for homebrew, and if I'm giving up some spellwork I'm pretty sure he would consider it usable for Spellstrike.

Other than that, I don't see a reason why not to have a bow be the focus. You can let the arcane pool augment the bow, which applies it to every arrow fired that round and there are plenty of Magus arcana that could be used. I am debating the virtues of the Arcane Archer as well.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Revan wrote:
AerynTahlro wrote:

"While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration."

I think casting a spell requires patience and concentration...

We direct you to the clearly stated fact that the OP is using the Urban Barbarian, whose Controlled Rage includes the description:

"When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage."

And I direct you to the fact that "can still use Int/Dex/Cha Skills" is referring to Skills, not abilities. A skill is a skill. An ability is an ability.

You can make a knowledge check during rage with this archetype. You cannot cast a spell.


Aeryn is correct. Skills being specifically called out does not means skills and other things. It only means skills.

PS:After looking at my prior post I have to change my answer to agree with Aeryn.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
AerynTahlro wrote:
Revan wrote:
AerynTahlro wrote:

"While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration."

I think casting a spell requires patience and concentration...

We direct you to the clearly stated fact that the OP is using the Urban Barbarian, whose Controlled Rage includes the description:

"When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage."

And I direct you to the fact that "can still use Int/Dex/Cha Skills" is referring to Skills, not abilities. A skill is a skill. An ability is an ability.

You can make a knowledge check during rage with this archetype. You cannot cast a spell.

And I didn't necessarily say you could. I think you're right about what the RAW says, though as a DM, I'd tend to interpret RAI to allow it. But the way you phrased your answer, referencing only the standard barbarian rage, it looked like you were answering the question of whether the standard barbarian can cast in rage, which no one claimed they could.


Use both the Wand wielder and wand mastery arcana -- just choose a spell that isn't on your list so you can use it with use magic device -- which you can plainly do since it is a charisma based spell.

Which of course implies you can use any spell trigger item while in a controlled rage. All in all if you follow this line of logic and tangential evidence to its conclusion you'll fine a nice line leading to "cast away" however without the errata you won't actually be able to technically cast a spell yourself since it isn't stated in the ability, but hey second hand is better than not at all right?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting while in Controlled Rage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions