
Quatar |

Well it says pretty straight forward that the Arcane Bond bloodline ability does not allow you to have both an bonded item and a familiar.
That part is in the Core Rulebook already, I thinkt he reference to the FAQ is at the wrong place and should refer to the clarification that it only alows spells from the spell known list, because that's what got errata'd.
So I'd say "no doesn't work".

cwslyclgh |

However the witch class doesn't have the arcane bond class feature, it has the Witch's Familiar class feature... so it appears that you might be able to get both a familiar and a bonded item by taking a level of witch along with a level of a class with arcane bond (wizard, sorcerer with the arcane bloodline).

![]() |

However the witch class doesn't have the arcane bond class feature, it has the Witch's Familiar class feature... so it appears that you might be able to get both a familiar and a bonded item by taking a level of witch along with a level of a class with arcane bond (wizard, sorcerer with the arcane bloodline).
The witch's familiar class feature "uses the same rules as the wizard's arcane bond class feature (see pages 78 and 82 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook)", except as otherwise noted in the APG. Nowhere does it state in the APG that a witch can acquire a bonded object instead of or in addition to her familiar, so by RAW I would say no. That said, I don't think it would be overpowered to allow it for the feat cost of Eldritch Heritage.
Source: APG pg. 69
What's more, looking at the sorcerer's arcane bloodline:
Arcane Bond (Su): At 1st level, you gain an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to your sorcerer level. Your sorcerer levels stack with any wizard levels you possess when determining the powers of your familiar or bonded object. This ability does not allow you to have both a familiar and a bonded item.

![]() |

@TClifford: It would appear that the classes are incompatible, not unlike barbarian and paladin. If I had a bonded object wizard player who for some reason wanted to multiclass to witch (which is an awful multiclass, by the by), I would allow him to get rid of his bonded object as a one-time multiclassing deal; he'd be worse off by multiclassing anyway.
By RAW, doesn't work though. For the purposes of PFS, it doesn't work. For the purposes of a home game, tell them not to anyway because it'll suck.