Intense spells question


Rules Questions


PRD wrote:

Intense Spells (Su)

Whenever you cast an evocation spell that deals hit point damage, add 1/2 your wizard level to the damage (minimum +1). This bonus only applies once to a spell, not once per missile or ray, and cannot be split between multiple missiles or rays.

Would this apply as well to a spell with ongoing damage, like Flaming Sphere? The rules say once per spell, but then specifically call out rays/missiles. But the sphere is just one sphere, so on subsequent rounds would the intense spells damage apply?

Thanks for opinions


I'd probably rule that it applied on the first round of damage the sphere does, but not later rounds.


I agree with Adamantine Dragon. The RAW does say "only applies once to a spell..".


bump for more opinions?

Lantern Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber

I'd also be inclined to have the increased damage apply to the initial instance of spells with ongoing damage; I sorta see it as that initial flood of power that the caster is able to infuse, and after that it's all run as normal.


yep, once per spell is once per spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Intense spells question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions