Some questions about mounted attacks


Rules Questions


1. For a rider to use the "trample" feat, does the horse need to have the "improved overrun" (and therefore also the "power attack" feat) because it would otherwise cause an aoo for attempting an overrun?

2. The rules state that the mount acts on the riders turn. Does that mean you can decide from turn to turn who acts first (horse or rider)?

3. The rules state that for an easy use of the mounted combat rules the rider uses the same space as the horse. Does that mean he can attack on all the squares around the horse? (Imagine what killing potential you'd have on the battlefield in combo with the "Lunge" feat")

4. Would this be possible in one turn:
- mount attacks foe (bite or hoof) and as a move action overruns that foe, moving 15 ft forward. (rider used free action to guide with knees)
- Rider used move action to guide mount more then 5 feet but gets an attack (+1 for higher ground) vs the same (possibly even prone) foe.

5. If the horse only moves 5 ft would it be possible for the horse to make a full attack (bite-hoof-hoof if it's combat trained) and the rider to make his full attack?

If the answer to my question 4 and 5 are true, taking a feat as trample or ride by seem to be quite stupid to take.

Anyhow I think the info about mounted combat is quite limited so any help on your experiences or something could help me out. Thx!


1. Trample says nothing about avoiding attacks of opportunity, so it does not negate them. However with the Trample feat the mount is not making the overrun attempt, you are, likely with a +1 bonus to your CMB (attack roll) for having a mount larger than the target. "When you attempt to overrun an opponent while mounted..." You would need Improved Overrun to avoid attacks of opportunity as well. Either way, your mount will be provoking attacks of opportunity for moving through threatened squares, so it is a good thing you probably have Mounted Combat.

2. Yes, you can adjucate all of the actions on turn in whichever order you choose.

3. Yes; however he can be attacked by any enemy capable of attack any of the mounts squares as well. This is an abstraction for simplicity's sake.

4. Yes and no- actions need to occur in a specific order. Overrun is a standard action taken during a move action. The mount would not be able to attack with a a bite or a hoof and then take the overrun action. To accomplish what it looks like you are attempting you would need both Trample and Greater Overrun. You would overrun the foe with the your move and standard actions, taking an attack of opportunity if you beat the targets CMD by 5 or more and knock them prone. Your mount would get an attack of opportunity as well (from Trample). While you would not provoke attacks of opportunity for the overrun attempt, your mount will still be moving through threatened squares and provoke attacks of opportunity, but it is a good thing you have Mounted Combat. Your mount would still have its standard action left so it could then take another attack on the prone foe, as it only used its move action to move you during your overrun attempt.

5. Yes, the mount is able to make a 5' step without hindering either the rider or the mount's full attack action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Some questions about mounted attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions