| Phloid RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32 |
Situation:
I designate my familiar as the "toucher" for an offensive touch spell I'm casting (say Chill Touch) by using the "Deliver Touch Spells" familiar ability. In the following round, on the way to deliver the spell, my familiar is hit by an arrow and takes 6 damage. Normally when a caster is holding a charge on a spell he must make a concentration check to retain the spell when taking damage.
Question:
In this situation does my familiar make a concentration check or do I? If my familiar needs to, which seems like the way it should be, what is his bonus? In 3rd Ed Concentration was a skill so his bonus was the same as mine because we share skills. In Pathfinder, concentration is not a skill. My concentration bonus is my caster level plus my Int modifier. What is my familiar's concentration bonus? Or does he just lose the spell? Is there an official ruling on this?
Edit:
Now I can't find the text that says you loose a spell that you are holding a charge on. Do you not have to make a concentration on a spell you have already cast but are holding a charge on?
| Phloid RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32 |
| 2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Right. That's what I figured when I tried to find the text. I think I was confusing it with spells with a concentration duration.
Ok, so just out of curiosity if a situation came up where your familiar needed to make a concentration check (as a cleric/wizard you give it spells with Imbue with Spell Ability for instance) and he takes an AOO while casting one (or any other character that doesn't have a caster level), what would his concentration bonus be?
| wraithstrike |
The familiar being the toucher does not make the familiar the caster so the situation never takes place.
Deliver Touch Spells (Su): If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the “toucher.” The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master would. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates.
That means when the spell is cast that the spell is transferred to the familiar. If the spell is transferred the casting of it is already done so no AoO takes place. The familiar can then travel over to the target and try to touch him. Even if the familiar gets hit in the face the spell is not lost because it is already cast before the familiar ever got to the target. The only way your situation comes up is if the familiar is somehow the caster, but that never happens.
edit:I misread your post. I am going to give a different answer shortly.
New answer:
I would use the original caster's level plus the modifier of the recipient of Imbue with Spell Ability. That is not covered in the rules though.
This is a good one to FAQ.
| Phloid RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32 |
New answer:
I would use the original caster's level plus the modifier of the recipient of Imbue with Spell Ability. That is not covered in the rules though.This is a good one to FAQ.
Yeah, you'd think they would have addressed that in the "Imbue with Spell Ability" spell. I don't know how often it gets asked to be frequent but you'd think in all the years the spell has been around, it would have been addressed.