Psionics Unleashed rule clarification


Product Discussion


The Pyrokineticist prestige class is listed as capable of using the Weapon Afire ability at will with the duration being as long as the weapon is wielded. I want to clarify that this is correct and was not changed by errata later on, because it seems a bit powerful, especially since my intention is to build a Fighter/Pyrokineticist.


Your post is likely to get moved, but of it doesn't, ask this question in the "compatible products from other publishers" forum, and you'll likely get an answer from Jeremy Smith (the guy who wrote PU).

Dreamscarred Press

There has been no errata on it.

Considering a 2nd level spell / power can give you Fire Resist 10, which would almost completely negate the base ability (which you can't get until 9th level, when Resist Energy goes to 20), I don't see how it's that powerful. :) The greater isn't until 13th level, at which point Resist Energy goes to 30.

Fire damage is the most commonly resisted / immune... Is it nice? Sure. Is it easy to block? Absolutely.


Thanks. Now I can build my pyromaniac Fighter without worrying about balance.

Which abilities of the Pyrokineticist can be activated by a Barbarian during rage, and which can't?

Dreamscarred Press

Can barbarians use spell-like abilities while raging? If not, then the Pyro can't use psi-like abilities while raging.


From the Core Rulebook:

Quote:
While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.

The bolded part is what would kill a barbarian/pyro from being able to activate weapon afire while in a rage. In order to manifest a power, or psi-like ability, you have to be able to concentrate.

That being said, I don't see any reason why weapon afire couldn't be manifested prior to the rage. Once weapon afire is manifested, it doesn't require concentration; only that the weapon continue to be held.

The pyrokineticist's abilities that could be activated prior to a rage, and continue to be used during the rage, are as follows:

- Fire Lash
- Hand Afire
- Weapon Afire
- Nimbus

Per RAW, you wouldn't be able to use conflagration, either, but your GM might make an exception for it, since it feels right for a barbarian. If I were GMing, I'd allow conflagration to be used, but it would end your rage. (My own personal call)

Also, I'm not sure about Firewalk. I can't remember if supernatural abilities require concentration, nor do I know if the requirement of spending 1 power point/round would constitute "concentration" either.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Third-Party Pathfinder RPG Products / Product Discussion / Psionics Unleashed rule clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Product Discussion