Advanced Firearms, Range increments


Rules Questions


Ultimate Combat (P.136) states that:
Advanced firearms resolve their attacks against touch AC when the target is within the first five range increments, but this type of attack is not considered a touch attack for the purposes of feats such as Deadly Aim. At higher range increments, the attack resolves
normally, including taking the normal cumulative –2 penalty for each full-range increment.

My Problem:
What does the final part of the last sentence mean, especially the -2 penalty? Is there no attack penalty within the first five range increments for advanced firearms? I would guess there is, because even if a bullet has (after the first range increment) enough force to hit a enemy at touch AC, the attack roll should be more difficult because the target is further away from the attacker... by looking at the "Early Firearms" entry above this looks like some kind of copy-and-paste laziness.

Example:
So if a PC uses a revolver (advanced firearm, 20ft) to shoot an creature 65 Feet away this would be a -6 on his attack roll, but still a attack on the touch AC of the creature? Right?


Zachrid wrote:

Ultimate Combat (P.136) states that:

Advanced firearms resolve their attacks against touch AC when the target is within the first five range increments, but this type of attack is not considered a touch attack for the purposes of feats such as Deadly Aim. At higher range increments, the attack resolves
normally, including taking the normal cumulative –2 penalty for each full-range increment.

My Problem:
What does the final part of the last sentence mean, especially the -2 penalty? Is there no attack penalty within the first five range increments for advanced firearms? I would guess there is, because even if a bullet has (after the first range increment) enough force to hit a enemy at touch AC, the attack roll should be more difficult because the target is further away from the attacker... by looking at the "Early Firearms" entry above this looks like some kind of copy-and-paste laziness.

Example:
So if a PC uses a revolver (advanced firearm, 20ft) to shoot an creature 65 Feet away this would be a -6 on his attack roll, but still a attack on the touch AC of the creature? Right?

Correct as far as i can tell

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Advanced Firearms, Range increments All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.