5-foot step


Rules Questions


Hello guys, I have a doubte.
I read this note:

Quote:
1 Regardless of the action, if you move out of a threatened square, you usually provoke an attack of opportunity. This column indicates whether the action itself, not moving, provokes an attack of opportunity.

and then:

Quote:

Take 5-Foot Step

You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement for which you do not have a listed speed.

So, if I take a 5-foot step to move out of a threatened square I provoke an attack of opportunity (because 5-foot step is a type of action). Is it right or not? Why?

Thanks!


Quote:

Take 5-Foot Step

You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement for which you do not have a listed speed.

Emphasis mine. It doesn't get much clearer than that.


No, you don't provoke on a 5-ft step.

Provoking Attack of Opportunity wrote:


Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing certain actions within a threatened square.

Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.

Sovereign Court

A 5-foot step doesn't provoke so long as that's the only moment you take that tern. I think the point you're missing is the fact that a 5-foot step isn't an action in terms of what provokes, that first section you quote talks about move actions, and the thing that might be confusing you is that a 5-foot step isn't a move action.


Thank you all guys ^_^

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 5-foot step All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions