Question about multiple DR


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Playing a 5th level Barbarian who gains DR2/- because of the Invulnerable Rager archetype. In the last game my character became a afflicted werewolf which gives him DR5/silver. My question is which do I use or do they somehow stack?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Always use the best DR. That means he has DR 5/silver against non-silver weapons, and DR 2/- against silver weapons.

If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation.

Keep in mind that he doesn't have the silver DR unless he's shifted, and he loses control of the character when he does. Afflicted lycanthropes don't get any benefits in human form, or else it would be really trivial to find which of the townsfolk is unknowingly a werewolf.


You always use the best (highest) DR. In this case, 5/silver. If that gets negated, however, you use the next highest, or 2/- in this case.

Start at the best, and work your way down. The first one that does not get negated by the attack is the one that applies.

The Exchange

Bobson wrote:


... doesn't have the silver DR unless he's shifted, and he loses control of the character when he does...

Why would you assume this. The only time a character looses control is when the full moon appears and then only until he overcomes that DC 20 will save.

"A creature that catches lycanthropy becomes an afflicted lycanthrope, but shows no symptoms (and does not gain any of the template's adjustments or abilities) until the night of the next full moon, when the victim involuntarily assumes animal form and forgets his or her own identity. The character remains in animal form until the next dawn and remembers nothing about the entire episode (or subsequent episodes) unless he makes a DC 20 Will save, in which case he becomes aware of his condition."


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Weaponbreaker wrote:
Bobson wrote:


... doesn't have the silver DR unless he's shifted, and he loses control of the character when he does...

Why would you assume this. The only time a character looses control is when the full moon appears and then only until he overcomes that DC 20 will save.

"A creature that catches lycanthropy becomes an afflicted lycanthrope, but shows no symptoms (and does not gain any of the template's adjustments or abilities) until the night of the next full moon, when the victim involuntarily assumes animal form and forgets his or her own identity. The character remains in animal form until the next dawn and remembers nothing about the entire episode (or subsequent episodes) unless he makes a DC 20 Will save, in which case he becomes aware of his condition."

I take that to mean he becomes aware of his condition and remembers what happens if he makes the save. But he doesn't gain control. He just remembers all the bad stuff he did.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Weaponbreaker wrote:
Bobson wrote:


... doesn't have the silver DR unless he's shifted, and he loses control of the character when he does...

Why would you assume this. The only time a character looses control is when the full moon appears and then only until he overcomes that DC 20 will save.

"A creature that catches lycanthropy becomes an afflicted lycanthrope, but shows no symptoms (and does not gain any of the template's adjustments or abilities) until the night of the next full moon, when the victim involuntarily assumes animal form and forgets his or her own identity. The character remains in animal form until the next dawn and remembers nothing about the entire episode (or subsequent episodes) unless he makes a DC 20 Will save, in which case he becomes aware of his condition."

From the curse itself:

Quote:
When a PC becomes a lycanthrope, you as the GM have a choice to make. In most cases, you should take control of the PC's actions whenever he is in hybrid or animal form—lycanthropy shouldn't be a method to increase a PC's power, after all, and what an afflicted lycanthrope does while in animal or hybrid form is often at odds with what the character would actually want. If a player wants to play a lycanthrope, he should play a natural lycanthrope and follow the guidelines for playing a character of a powerful race.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about multiple DR All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.