Area Effect spells and Item saves


Rules Questions


So a character is blasted with a fireball. He has a wand in one hand, a sword in the other, is wearing armor and has various magical geegaws hanging on her person.

She fails her save.

Do all of her things need to make a save, too? What if she makes her save, what about things in her backpack, or her bag of holding? Should armor need to save, that just seems silly.

Just wondering here.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Only if the failed reflex save was a natural 1. If it was there is a chart in the rules to dedtermine which items need make saves. But this probably the most often ignored rule in D&D/Pathfinder.


I don't know, seems ineffective weapon ru.... forget it :P

We have never used the failed on a 1 save rule, but it is definitely in the book.


I've never used it... but that makes more sense as a 5% of the time threat. I like it. A little risk.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Area Effect spells and Item saves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions