Ghost Rager (barbarian rage power)


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Ghost Rager (Su)

Prerequisite: Barbarian 6, superstition rage power

Benefit: While raging, the barbarian deals normal damage to incorporeal creatures even when using nonmagical weapons. She also gains a morale bonus to touch AC equal to her saving throw bonus from her superstition rage power.

*** Does this mean I can grapple an Incorporeal creature? Is it the same as the ghost touch property?

from the SRD -

An incorporeal creature’s attacks pass through (ignore) natural armor, armor, and shields, although deflection bonuses and force effects (such as mage armor) work normally against it. Incorporeal creatures pass through and operate in water as easily as they do in air. Incorporeal creatures cannot fall or take falling damage. Incorporeal creatures cannot make trip or grapple attacks, nor can they be tripped or grappled. In fact, they cannot take any physical action that would move or manipulate an opponent or its equipment, nor are they subject to such actions.

Ghost Touch
A ghost touch weapon deals damage normally against incorporeal creatures, regardless of its bonus. An incorporeal creature's 50% reduction in damage from corporeal sources does not apply to attacks made against it with ghost touch weapons. The weapon can be picked up and moved by an incorporeal creature at any time. A manifesting ghost can wield the weapon against corporeal foes. Essentially, a ghost touch weapon counts as both corporeal or incorporeal.


No, it clearly states in RAW that incorporeal creatures cannot be grappled. The power allows you to deal normal damage but does not say why, you could be punching their soul with you fists or your rage may be disruptive to them rather than you actually connecting with blows like they were solid, in the second case the fluff wouldn't even fit with grappling them.

Mechanically i might allow one of my players to grapple with the power depending on the situation but thats just a dm call.

Dark Archive

I am not so sure... PF has rules in place that incorporeal creatures can get the grappled condition. State in UC - Monk (Tetori archetype) 17 th level ability is his unarmed strikes gains the ghost touch special ability and incorporeal he strikes gain the grappled condition.


I see your point, however inescapable grasp is a poorly worded ability.

It states that incorporeal creatures you strike gain the grappled condition, the monk does not grapple them and they get a will save against the effect. It also only lasts for one round.

Obviously the rules in the tetori archtype are ment to override incorporeal creatures normal immunity to grappling since the entire archtype is based around that one combat manouver.

Ghost rager on the other had says nothing about grappling or ghost touch or overriding other rules, i think the quote above of ghost touch is quite self explanatory in what it does, you get a moral bonus to touch ac and deal full damage to incorporeal creatures with your attacks. If your gm lets you fair enough but its entirely gm fiat, like i said in the above example its not really ghost touch it just means you deal full damage somehow.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ghost Rager (barbarian rage power) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions