Called Shot DC


Rules Questions


In Ultimate Combat, the rules for the saving throw against the effects of a Called Shot state that "the DC is equal to the Armor Class hit by the attack." That's just not processing in my brain and I don't feel confident about it.

So, if I get a total attack roll of 20 and hit an enemy with an AC of 18, is the save DC for the Called Shot an 18 or a 20?

If the DC is determined by the target's AC, then that means that the exact same Called Shot fired at a level 1 warrior (AC 15) and a level 20 fighter (AC 30) will be easier for the warrior to shake off than for the fighter. That's illogical.

But the rules say Armor Class, not attack roll. Help me understand.


In the example you give, the DC would be 20.

The "armor class hit by the attack" means the highest AC your attack would have been successful against.

An easier way to write it, IMO, would have been "the DC is equal to the value of the attack roll".


Its the final number of your attack roll. They say the AC hit by the attack meaning the armor class you would hit.


That makes more sense than the AC thing. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Called Shot DC All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.