Question on "rend"


Rules Questions


Can anyone explain to me how I use Rend with a 4 armed golem:

Melee 4 claws +15 (1d4+7 plus rend)

Special Attacks berserk, rend (4 claws, 1d4+10)

Do all the 4 reglar attacks need to hit (and do damage 4d4+28) to do then an additional 4d4+40 damage?


Two or more of the claws must hit. It deal the rend damages (1d4+10) at most once per round.


GâtFromKI wrote:
Two or more of the claws must hit. It deal the rend damages (1d4+10) at most once per round.

But its says rend (4 clawsm 1d4+10) do not 4 claws then need to hit?


No, it means that any combination of two hits from those 4 claws triggers the rend.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
divby0 wrote:
GâtFromKI wrote:
Two or more of the claws must hit. It deal the rend damages (1d4+10) at most once per round.
But its says rend (4 clawsm 1d4+10) do not 4 claws then need to hit?

Nope it just needs to hit with 2 or more of those 4 claw attacks. (the 4 claws is listed to show what attacks the rend can be applied to.)


Stynkk wrote:
PRD - Bestiary I - Universal Monster Rules wrote:

Rend (Ex) If it hits with two or more natural attacks in 1 round, a creature with the rend special attack can cause tremendous damage by latching onto the opponent's body and tearing flesh. This attack deals an additional amount of damage, but no more than once per round. The type of attacks that must hit and the additional damage are included in the creature's description. The additional damage is usually equal to the damage caused by one of the attacks plus 1-1/2 the creature's Strength bonus.

Format: Rend (2 claws, 1d8+9); Location: Special Attacks.

4 Claw attacks must hit one target per the Golem's entry. It is a different amount for each creature. If they do, add the 1d4+10.

Now this threat shows exactly my problem..


This is an interesting question, I too ask if it is certain that 4 claw attacks do not have to hit and only 2 are required to trigger rend.

Specifically because "two or more" comes up... and the rend entry says the number of attacks needed to trigger rend are in the special attack field.

That being said, I think the other posters might be right and I might be wrong with my cursory reading of Rend, but I'd like to discuss it in more detail.


Stynkk wrote:
Specifically because "two or more" comes up... and the rend entry says the number of attacks needed to trigger rend are in the special attack field.

Not the number, just the type. The number is "two or more".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question on "rend" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions