How does the Shatter spell work?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Lets just asume that anything in a characters backpack counts as a "worn item". In this case all flasks and bottles in a characters possession do get a saving throw when the character stands in the area of a shatter spell.

But what kind of save?
I assume that "Saving Throw Will negates (object); Will negates (object) or Fortitude half; see text" is supposed to mean the items have to make Will saves.

I think the save for nonmagic items are made by the character who attends the object. But does he make one save or all items are destroyed, or do you roll a save for every individual item?

In either case, this should really screw over alchemists. Either they have a good chance to loose all their stuff, or they have a guaranteed chance to lose some of it.
And when he also carries alchemists fire or acid, or something like that, the flask that make the save take fire and acid damage. Even with taking only half damage from energy attacks, I don't think vials have more than 1 hit point.

So please tell me: Am I not aware of some important rules, or would there be total carnage?

The Exchange Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

The area effect version of the spell only works on unattended objects. So the alchemists equipment is fine.

"Used as an area attack, shatter destroys nonmagical objects of crystal, glass, ceramic, or porcelain. All such unattended objects within a 5-foot radius of the point of origin are smashed into dozens of pieces by the spell. Objects weighing more than 1 pound per your level are not affected, but all other objects of the appropriate composition are shattered."

If you wanted to target a single flask he might be a bit upset.

Edit: Not to mention I would suspect alchemists would invest in more durable metal flasks rather than shatter prone glass regardless.

Silver Crusade

If I'm not mistaken, potions are magical objects, including those made by alchemists, thus are immune to this spell.

Shatter:
School evocation [sonic]; Level bard 2, cleric/oracle 2, magus 2, sorcerer/wizard 2; Domain destruction 2

CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M/DF (a chip of mica)

EFFECT
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Area or Target 5-ft.-radius spread; or one solid object or one crystalline creature
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Will negates (object); Will negates (object) or Fortitude half; see text; Spell Resistance yes

DESCRIPTION
Shatter creates a loud, ringing noise that breaks brittle, non-magical objects; sunders a single solid, non-magical object; or damages a crystalline creature.

Used as an area attack, shatter destroys non-magical objects of crystal, glass, ceramic, or porcelain. All such unattended objects within a 5-foot radius of the point of origin are smashed into dozens of pieces by the spell. Objects weighing more than 1 pound per your level are not affected, but all other objects of the appropriate composition are shattered.

Alternatively, you can target shatter against a single solid non-magical object, regardless of composition, weighing up to 10 pounds per caster level. Targeted against a crystalline creature (of any weight), shatter deals 1d6 points of sonic damage per caster level (maximum 10d6), with a Fortitude save for half damage.


Remember that for best use, shatter should be cast directly after a targeted dispel magic if you want to break a magic item. The targeted dispel returns the magic item to a mundane object for 1d4 rounds, in which time it can be smashed to bits.

My brother's mummy anti-paladin got stripped naked this way by a sorcerer he was dueling. He still has the shattered pieces of his lovely +1 adamantine longsword and all of his equipment. He's carrying it all with him in a bag, while he looks for someone to cast make whole for him.


You wouldn't attack the potions anyway, but the nonmagical glass or clay vials. A spilled potion can no longer be drunked.

And yes, the spell description only says what rules apply to items that are unattended. It says nothing on items that are attended, so you would assume that standard rules for such situations apply.

The Exchange Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

The standard rules for an object not being affected by a spell are... nothing happens.


"Shatter creates a loud, ringing noise that breaks brittle, non-magical objects; sunders a single solid, non-magical object; or damages a crystalline creature.

Used as an area attack, shatter destroys non-magical objects of crystal, glass, ceramic, or porcelain. All such unattended objects within a 5-foot radius of the point of origin are smashed into dozens of pieces by the spell. Objects weighing more than 1 pound per your level are not affected, but all other objects of the appropriate composition are shattered.

Alternatively, you can target shatter against a single solid non-magical object, regardless of composition, weighing up to 10 pounds per caster level. Targeted against a crystalline creature (of any weight), shatter deals 1d6 points of sonic damage per caster level (maximum 10d6), with a Fortitude save for half damage."

regarding the 'sunders a single solid, non-magical object' how do most people handle the shatter spell in reference to this?

i.e. cast it on a non-magical sword...what do you consider that sentence to mean?

The Exchange Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Hrm.

It could definitely be worded better. We've always played it where the holder of the object gets a save and if it fails the objects is "shattered" aka destroyed. Unattended objects get their own (usually low) saving throws.


That was the way I was going to interpret it...I was just curious how other people interpreted it.


I would also say the person holding it makes a will save or the item is destroyed. If nobody holds it, it's automatically destroyed without a save.
When you cast a targeted dispel magic at a magic item, it becomes nonmagical for 1d4 rounds, which allows you to target it with shatter.


Yora wrote:
I would also say the person holding it makes a will save or the item is destroyed. If nobody holds it, it's automatically destroyed without a save.

We need to clarify that attended doesn't mean it has to be held.

A vial in your pocket is still attended by you as you are in possession of it. Set it on a table and then it is unattended and automatically destroyed.

Basically, if it is on your person, it is attended.

The Exchange Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Windquake wrote:
Yora wrote:
I would also say the person holding it makes a will save or the item is destroyed. If nobody holds it, it's automatically destroyed without a save.

We need to clarify that attended doesn't mean it has to be held.

A vial in your pocket is still attended by you as you are in possession of it. Set it on a table and then it is unattended and automatically destroyed.

Basically, if it is on your person, it is attended.

Yes.

What is attended versus not attended is covered in the Saving throws section pretty well.

Quote:
(object): The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature's saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater. This notation does not mean that a spell can be cast only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures or objects. A magic item's saving throw bonuses are each equal to 2 + 1/2 the item's caster level.

I guess you could argue that items in a pack are not worn, but I've never seen it run where items in a pack are considered unattended.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How does the Shatter spell work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions