Ray of Exhaustion


Rules Questions


Situation:

Spellcaster casts Ray of Exhaustion on a creature. It makes the save and now it's fatigued. Next round, spellcaster casts the same spell again. It makes the save again. Creature who is fatigue while under the effects of the fatigue gets exhausted. But there are some rules on spell effects stacking which I'm not that much familiar with. So what happens now, is the targeted creature:

A) Fatigued, because effects from the same spell don't stack.
B) Exhausted, because when a fatigued creature is fatigued, it gets exhausted.

?


Quote:

A successful Fortitude save means the creature is only fatigued.

A character that is already fatigued instead becomes exhausted.

I don't think you're supposed to be "safe" from exhaustion if you're already fatigued by the same spell, but RAW here is pretty hazy.


The answer is B. The spell functions as written. If a creature is the victim of two Rays of Exhaustion, he will be exhausted.


Penalties from the same source don't stack. Spell effects do stack (even if they're from the same source) in specific ways:

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic#TOC-Combining-Magic-Effects

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ray of Exhaustion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions