Artificer's Touch and Golems


Rules Questions


This came up in our game session this past weekend. A mid-level Cleric attempted to use his Artificer's Touch domain ability on a Flesh Golem. The DM ruled that since the Golem is immune to magic, and the Artificer's Touch is a spell-like ability, that the Golem must be immune to Artificer's Touch.

I don't disagree with the logic, but I'm wondering if there is a FAQ which covers this. Artificer's Touch seems designed specifically for use against constructs such as Golems. Is this supposed to be a supernatural ability instead of a spell-like ability? There are very few constructs which aren't Golems. Denying this ability for use against Golems seems like a mistake to me.

Liberty's Edge

Golems are immune to any spell with spell resistance, it's a tricky little work around. They can still be hit by magic just nearly every attack spell has spell resistance. So for artificer's touch that says "it does damage" it means it's specifically designed to counteract the golem's ability.

So yeah, the guy's right, but Cleric comes prepared for such shinanigans.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Artificer's Touch and Golems All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions