Lion's Call Clarification


Rules Questions


I was looking through the cavalier orders while making an NPC and had decided on the order of the lion, when I saw something a little strange.

Lion’s Call (Ex): At 2nd level, an order of the lion cavalier
gains the ability to rally his allies. As a standard action,
he can give an encouraging speech which grants all
allies within 60 feet a competence bonus on their saving
throws against fear equal to his Charisma modifier and
a +1 competence bonus on attack rolls for a number of
rounds equal to his cavalier level. If an ally within range is
under the effect of a spell or ability that causes him to be
frightened or panicked, he can immediately make another
saving throw to resist the effect (if allowed).

When I was trying to find out how often he could use this ability I realized it didn't say. Does that mean it can be used as many times as he wants? Could a higher level cavalier just refresh the ability every few rounds and essentially make it a permanent bonus?
Thanks for the help.


Essentially, yeah. I'd say the standard action to use is balancing enough, since that leaves the cavalier without anything but a move and a swift, and he can't do much else with that.


I agree with Talynonyx. The standard action cost is the balancing point.

Also, based on the 4 orders I just randomly looked at, it looks like the 2nd level order ability is generally not a times/day ability, but rather is instead either an always on or a standard action at will.


Thanks guys, glad to clear that up before it comes up in-game.


Now I'm really excited about the idea of a 2nd level cavalier who throughout the entire day just shouts out encouragement every 12 seconds telling his friends how awesome they are and how they can totally do this!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lion's Call Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.