Spellslinger official PFS ruling


Rules Questions


Greetings all,

I recently gained access to the Spellslinger wizard archetype via a boon at a convention. I have been surfing the FAQ, clarifications, erratas and messageboards for clear guidance regarding the interaction of spells from other classes working with the Arcane gun. It seems the general consensus is you can use spells from other classes and cast them through the gun. such as taking one level in spellslinger and then multiclassing into say sorcerer and casting your sorcerer spells through the gun in addition to being able to cast spells from the spellslinger class. All of the arguments for being able to do this hinge on the very specific writing of the archetype wherein it states "A spellslinger can cast any ranged touch attack, cone, line, or ray spells through his arcane gun." the specific emphasis being on the word Any.

Though i can appreciate individual interpretations and dialogue, If i could get an official ruling and not just mob opinion I would truly appreciate it. I want to be able to run this character but also want to adhere to the rules. I hate doing the whole RAW vs RAI arguments and just want clarification regardless of whether it benefits me or not.

thanks

Grand Lodge

While I can't give you an official ruling, I just have a thought. If you can use other classes spells through the gun, is there any reason to not change to another class? By only taking one level of wizard (spellslinger) then going full sorcerer, you can dump Int and regain access to cantrips and all opposition schools.

The Exchange

This is honestly just one of those situtions where no answer will be given because it is obvious with no need to be addressed.


Sorcerer: Do the bonuses granted from Bloodline Arcana apply to all of the spells cast by the sorcerer, or just those cast from the sorcerer's spell list?

The Bloodline Arcana powers apply to all of the spells cast by characters of that bloodline, not just those cast using the sorcerer's spell slots.

General rule: If a class ability modifies your spellcasting, it applies to your spells from all classes, not just spells from the class that grants the ability. (The exception is if the class ability specifically says it only applies to spells from that class.)
posted October 2010 | back to top

Sczarni

^ Linkified

(and flagged for the Rules Questions Forum)


savokk wrote:
While I can't give you an official ruling, I just have a thought. If you can use other classes spells through the gun, is there any reason to not change to another class? By only taking one level of wizard (spellslinger) then going full sorcerer, you can dump Int and regain access to cantrips and all opposition schools.

That was my intent...to dip into spellslinger and then switch to a different spellcasting class. Though it feels like it was intended to not work that way


Ragoz wrote:
This is honestly just one of those situtions where no answer will be given because it is obvious with no need to be addressed.

Yeah so obvious...that's why there are multiple threads discussing it and only a few obscure other clarifications from other classes to cross reference against. Though I do agree it is unlikely there will be any official ruling.

Sczarni

*head scratch*

Huh? Why do you not think this FAQ applies?

Scarab Sages

There’s also the FAQ about Spell Combat and the Magus spell list. In terms of what the ability actually does, it feels closer to that. Now, Spell Combat does mention only being able to cast spells off the Magus spell list, but the FAQ goes farther to say they can only be spells prepared in a Magus Spell slot. That language isn’t in the ability anywhere, so I could see how someone might extend the logic from that FAQ to this situation.

I’m not saying whether the are right or wrong to do so, but I can understand how it might make things less clear.

EDIT: I realize the Spellslinger’s ability is closer to Spellstrike than Spell Combat. Spellstrike also includes the “from the Magus spell list” language, and I think it’s fair to read the FAQ as applying to it as well. At least I don’t see a lot of Magus dips to get Spellstrike with divine spells or sorcerer spells, etc.


Nefreet wrote:

*head scratch*

Huh? Why do you not think this FAQ applies?

I do think it applies...I am just not confident it will be answered. With the number of questions out there being asked and the limited number of staff answering the questions...the chances of them getting around to answering this question before my character is created and played to retirement is sadly slim.

Sczarni

Dark blue text indicates a URL link.

Bignorsewolf quoted, and I linked, the answer to your question.


I think the problem for multiclassing might come from the introductory text.
"While few contest the seductive allure of commanding arcane and occult powers, there are those wizards who become obsessed with the natural mysteries of black powder. Combining this emerging technology with their considerable arcane skills, they transform firearms into a powerful focus."
That sure sounds like Wizard spells going into firearms given it is a Wizard archtype. Yes, I bolded wizards in the quote as 'they' and 'their' means wizards. This would mean that the exception in the FAQ applies. Could you even funnel sorcerer spells into this wizard ability? (relax, I'm just brainstorming a bit)
Is the opening text considered to be in the ability for the purposes of the FAQ? I think that's a matter of mincing the text. Personally for me the classes are closely related and use the same spell lists so I don't forecast a problem. However read on...

School of the Gun is a tricky ability. 4 Wizard schools require two spell slots. Going into Sorcerer you work around that restriction in a way. The restriction still applies to a spell funneled into the firearm and fortunately Sorcerer and Wizards use the same list. This is supported by the General Rule in the FAQ.

If the Bloodline Power is of an opposing school(GM interpretation required) it may trigger the restriction. I'm thinking Elemental bloodline with an Evocation restriction (I can't imagine WHY a spellslinger would take Evocation as an opposition school, but there you have it).


The introductory text doesnt matter one whit. The ability doesnt limit it to wizard spells, so its not limited

Sczarni

Agreed. It fits in with the FAQ answer nicely.


the interaction of Spellslinger with Kineticist (wild talents being SLAs) might be more problematic.


I don't think it works with spell like abilities.

Sczarni

2 people marked this as a favorite.

At this point just imagine there's an annoying crow flying above the wolf and repeating everything he says.

...in a Gilbert Gottfried sort of voice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spellslinger official PFS ruling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions