Large Weapons, Questions, Thoughts


Advice


So I have a character in my group who uses a large bastard sword. This incurs a -2 penalty, I believe. He argues it doesn't because he's wielding it with two hands and if he were to wield it with one hand it would be a -2. We have been going with the -2 penalty but I just wanted to see what everyone else had to say about it.

Liberty's Edge

Mr Smiles wrote:
So I have a character in my group who uses a large bastard sword. This incurs a -2 penalty, I believe. He argues it doesn't because he's wielding it with two hands and if he were to wield it with one hand it would be a -2. We have been going with the -2 penalty but I just wanted to see what everyone else had to say about it.

If it is a weapon designed to be a one-handed weapon for a creature one size larger than him, he gets the -2. It's a penalty because the weapon is not designed to be wielded by a creature of his size, not because of handedness. In fact, handedness has no penalties because you cannot bypass it (unless a Titan Mauler). In other words, he HAS to wield that weapon two-handed.


If it is a weapon designed to be a one-handed weapon for a creature one size larger than him, he gets the -2. It's a penalty because the weapon is not designed to be wielded by a creature of his size, not because of handedness. In fact, handedness has no penalties because you cannot bypass it (unless a Titan Mauler). In other words, he HAS to wield that weapon two-handed.

So he gets the -2 and has to wield it with two hands correct?


Mr Smiles wrote:
If it is a weapon designed to be a one-handed weapon for a creature one size larger than him, he gets the -2. It's a penalty because the weapon is not designed to be wielded by a creature of his size, not because of handedness. In fact, handedness has no penalties because you cannot bypass it (unless a Titan Mauler). In other words, he HAS to wield that weapon two-handed.
So he gets the -2 and has to wield it with two hands correct?

He can't wield the weapon at all if it is large unless he has Titan Mauler. If the weapon was a one handed large weapon he could use it in one hand with the -2 penalty.

PS:If we just said the same thing I apologize. The last sentence confused me as to what your stance was.

Liberty's Edge

Mr Smiles wrote:
StabbittyDoom wrote:
If it is a weapon designed to be a one-handed weapon for a creature one size larger than him, he gets the -2. It's a penalty because the weapon is not designed to be wielded by a creature of his size, not because of handedness. In fact, handedness has no penalties because you cannot bypass it (unless a Titan Mauler). In other words, he HAS to wield that weapon two-handed.
So he gets the -2 and has to wield it with two hands correct?

Yes. Also, since it's a bastard sword he needs the exotic proficiency to do even that, because otherwise it would be two-handed weapon and thus unwieldable when increased in size.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Take a look at the iconic Barbarian. Amiri uses a large bastard sword as well, and she takes the -2 penalty to attacks with it.


Jaryn Wildmane wrote:
Take a look at the iconic Barbarian. Amiri uses a large bastard sword as well, and she takes the -2 penalty to attacks with it.

Yep thats where he got the idea

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Large Weapons, Questions, Thoughts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.