Summon Monster Placement


Rules Questions


When casting summon monster to summon, say, a pony, can you specify that it appear above your enemy so that it falls and crushes him?


No.

Quote:
A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.


Generally speaking, no.

Core rulebook, "Magic" wrote:

Conjuration

Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning); or transport creatures or objects over great distances (teleportation). Creatures you conjure usually—but not always—obey your commands.

A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.

Emphasis mine.

EDIT: too slow...


Awesome, thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summon Monster Placement All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions