Wands and crafting


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hello all,

I am curious, does a wand have to be a wand? Can you make a wand but have it be a staff, or a cane? If not could you place the wand IN the cane and still activate it?

Also how would you go about making a magical item that allowed you to cast Unseen Servant? Perhaps a backpack that the servant would then carry.


The only problem i can think of allowing a staff to be used as a wand is that the staff is also a weapon and that means that it can be drawn as a free action with quick draw feat.


I assume what you are actually wanting to know is if a wand (magic item) is required to be a short, slender, wooden stick of some sort... and with that assumption, I can only answer this:

I don't think that the rules note any requirement for the shape and appearance of a wand other than by stating "A wand is a thin baton that contains a single spell of 4th level or lower."

That is pretty clear about what wands look like... but there is no reason listed for that requirement, it just "is."

In any game which I am the GM, I would allow any similar item (meaning light and small enough to be comfortably held in one hand, but large enough not to be concealed in a single hand that it is sized for) to be enchanted as a wand... for reasons that I have encountered APs and Modules with things such as carved bones, stones, or walking sticks as scrolls, and biscuits as potions.


In one of the 3.5 books, I believe Complete Scoundrel, they have a weapon modification called Wand Chamber, which allows you to store a wand inside a weapon and it counts as readied as long as you hold the weapon. Not sure about the price right now.


I had the idea of a stylish noble wizard that had an Unseen Servant carry around a pack that held his numerous canes. With each cane functioning as a wand.

Liberty's Edge

leo1925 wrote:
The only problem i can think of allowing a staff to be used as a wand is that the staff is also a weapon and that means that it can be drawn as a free action with quick draw feat.

They can both be drawn as weapons, there's no problem here. The "draw a weapon" section in the combat chapter specifically mentions wands as being possible to ready for such.


StabbittyDoom wrote:
leo1925 wrote:
The only problem i can think of allowing a staff to be used as a wand is that the staff is also a weapon and that means that it can be drawn as a free action with quick draw feat.
They can both be drawn as weapons, there's no problem here. The "draw a weapon" section in the combat chapter specifically mentions wands as being possible to ready for such.

There's a lot of debate about that, and if I recall correctly, there's some evidence that the text in that chapter is a copy and paste error from the SRD.

I think that if you search "Quick Draw wands", you can read the arguments.


Allia Thren wrote:

In one of the 3.5 books, I believe Complete Scoundrel, they have a weapon modification called Wand Chamber, which allows you to store a wand inside a weapon and it counts as readied as long as you hold the weapon. Not sure about the price right now.

Do you have the stats for the Wand Chamber? That sounds like pretty much what I want.


Cheapy wrote:
StabbittyDoom wrote:
leo1925 wrote:
The only problem i can think of allowing a staff to be used as a wand is that the staff is also a weapon and that means that it can be drawn as a free action with quick draw feat.
They can both be drawn as weapons, there's no problem here. The "draw a weapon" section in the combat chapter specifically mentions wands as being possible to ready for such.

There's a lot of debate about that, and if I recall correctly, there's some evidence that the text in that chapter is a copy and paste error from the SRD.

I think that if you search "Quick Draw wands", you can read the arguments.

From the text of the feat:

Quick Draw wrote:
Alchemical items, potions, scrolls, and wands cannot be drawn quickly using this feat.

Quick draw only helps you with weapons. If you want to get a wand as a free action then you need an efficient quiver, which allows you to treat them as ammunition, which can be drawn as a free action.

Liberty's Edge

Cheapy wrote:
StabbittyDoom wrote:
leo1925 wrote:
The only problem i can think of allowing a staff to be used as a wand is that the staff is also a weapon and that means that it can be drawn as a free action with quick draw feat.
They can both be drawn as weapons, there's no problem here. The "draw a weapon" section in the combat chapter specifically mentions wands as being possible to ready for such.

There's a lot of debate about that, and if I recall correctly, there's some evidence that the text in that chapter is a copy and paste error from the SRD.

I think that if you search "Quick Draw wands", you can read the arguments.

Debate or not, they haven't errata'd it so it's still RAW. It also makes sense, seeing as how one length of stick shouldn't be any different than another when placed in a readied position.

As noted above, Quick Draw does not specifically mention wands, but you could just enchant a small sized club or something and quick-draw that (since a small/tiny club meets the description of a wand's physical form exactly).


StabbittyDoom wrote:
Cheapy wrote:
StabbittyDoom wrote:
leo1925 wrote:
The only problem i can think of allowing a staff to be used as a wand is that the staff is also a weapon and that means that it can be drawn as a free action with quick draw feat.
They can both be drawn as weapons, there's no problem here. The "draw a weapon" section in the combat chapter specifically mentions wands as being possible to ready for such.

There's a lot of debate about that, and if I recall correctly, there's some evidence that the text in that chapter is a copy and paste error from the SRD.

I think that if you search "Quick Draw wands", you can read the arguments.

Debate or not, they haven't errata'd it so it's still RAW. It also makes sense, seeing as how one length of stick shouldn't be any different than another when placed in a readied position.

As noted above, Quick Draw does not specifically mention wands, but you could just enchant a small sized club or something and quick-draw that (since a small/tiny club meets the description of a wand's physical form exactly).

Quick Draw DOES SPECIFICALLY MENTION WANDS as I quoted above. You cannot use quick draw to draw wands, scrolls, potions, or alchemical items as a free action.

Liberty's Edge

Bascaria wrote:
StabbittyDoom wrote:
Cheapy wrote:
StabbittyDoom wrote:
leo1925 wrote:
The only problem i can think of allowing a staff to be used as a wand is that the staff is also a weapon and that means that it can be drawn as a free action with quick draw feat.
They can both be drawn as weapons, there's no problem here. The "draw a weapon" section in the combat chapter specifically mentions wands as being possible to ready for such.

There's a lot of debate about that, and if I recall correctly, there's some evidence that the text in that chapter is a copy and paste error from the SRD.

I think that if you search "Quick Draw wands", you can read the arguments.

Debate or not, they haven't errata'd it so it's still RAW. It also makes sense, seeing as how one length of stick shouldn't be any different than another when placed in a readied position.

As noted above, Quick Draw does not specifically mention wands, but you could just enchant a small sized club or something and quick-draw that (since a small/tiny club meets the description of a wand's physical form exactly).

Quick Draw DOES SPECIFICALLY MENTION WANDS as I quoted above. You cannot use quick draw to draw wands, scrolls, potions, or alchemical items as a free action.

It isn't a wand. It's a tiny sized club that happens to be enchanted.

EDIT: Also, apologies on the mis-statement.


If you aren't worried about using a wrist slot, you can always grab a 5gp spring loaded wrist sheath from the Adventurer's Armory:

Wrist Sheath:
This is a sheath designed to be strapped to your forearm and hidden under a long sleeve. The sheath can hold one light weapon, ranged weapon, or wand that weighs less than 1 pound. Alternatively, you may store up to 1 pound of ammunition in a wrist sheath. As a move action, you can bend your wrist to cause some or all of these items to drop into your hand. You have a +2 bonus on Sleight of Hand checks made to oppose the Perception check of someone observing or frisking you
regarding items in the sheath. You can only wear one wrist sheath per arm.

Wrist Sheath, Spring Loaded:
This item works like a standard wrist sheath, but releasing an item from it is an immediate action. Preparing the sheath for this use requires cranking the sheath’s tiny gears and springs into place (a fullround action that provokes an attack of opportunity).

Liberty's Edge

Well, there doesn't seem to be any restriction on using Craft Wondrous Item to make charged devices (see Gem of Brightness), so if you want your wands to be shaped like canes entirely for flavor purposes, the answer really ought to be "why not?".

Your backpack thing should work fine. You could also make one using Floating Disk, or a lot of other spells, I would imagine.
-Kle.


StabbittyDoom wrote:

It isn't a wand. It's a tiny sized club that happens to be enchanted.

EDIT: Also, apologies on the mis-statement.

Yeah, but then it requires craft arms & armor and is a custom magic item subject to the GM's approval. There's no RAW way to craft a club with charges, there's only the GM guidelines for pricing.


Dhaenon wrote:
Allia Thren wrote:

In one of the 3.5 books, I believe Complete Scoundrel, they have a weapon modification called Wand Chamber, which allows you to store a wand inside a weapon and it counts as readied as long as you hold the weapon. Not sure about the price right now.

Do you have the stats for the Wand Chamber? That sounds like pretty much what I want.

Actually it's from Dungeonscape, p 34. Still a 3.5 book so you should check with your DM first if it's allowed. I would totally allow it, because it was written by The Giant, but that's maybe just me :)

Spoiler:
Cost: +100 gp

Wand Chamber (Weapon or Shield): A wand
chamber is a thin, cylindrical slot on the handle of a
weapon or the edge of a shield that can hold a single
wand. When a wand is loaded in the chamber, it is
considered ready and can be activated without having
to drop the weapon or shield. Changing the wand in
the chamber is a full-round action.

Liberty's Edge

stringburka wrote:
StabbittyDoom wrote:

It isn't a wand. It's a tiny sized club that happens to be enchanted.

EDIT: Also, apologies on the mis-statement.

Yeah, but then it requires craft arms & armor and is a custom magic item subject to the GM's approval. There's no RAW way to craft a club with charges, there's only the GM guidelines for pricing.

No, it does NOT require craft magic arms and armor. Regardless of the object's physical shape you always enchant it based on the properties you give. For example: You could enchant a quarterstaff as a stave instead of as a weapon, but that doesn't mean you use Craft Magic Arms and Armor to do it.

The only requirement for wand is that it be around 6-12 inches long, be a stick, and weigh no more than one ounce (this is approximately a tiny club, or a diminutive quarterstaff). For a stave, it must be between 4 and 7 feet long and weight about 5 pounds (this is almost identical the description of a quarterstaff, which is about 5 feet long and weighs 4 pounds).

Craft Magic Arms and Armor always enchants things with weapon and armor bonuses. Craft Staff always makes staves (even if placed onto a staff-like weapon). Craft Wand always makes wands (even if placed onto a club-like weapon). Craft Rod always makes rods (even if placed onto a club-like weapon). You cannot change the crafting type just because the target object is ALSO another type of object.

You craft based on the properties placed onto the object: Nothing more, nothing less. Some crafts require certain shapes of object, but that shape if object is vague enough that you may also make that object useful for other things.

PS: My comment about it being a tiny-sized club is a tongue-in-cheek stab at the nonsensical nature of quick draw's exclusion of wands.


Look, either it's a wand, and in that case you can't use it with quick draw (explicitly stated) or it's a weapon, and in that case you have to have craft arms and armor and have it DM allowed. You can't both eat the cake and have it.

Liberty's Edge

stringburka wrote:
Look, either it's a wand, and in that case you can't use it with quick draw (explicitly stated) or it's a weapon, and in that case you have to have craft arms and armor and have it DM allowed. You can't both eat the cake and have it.

Incorrect. Either it's a stick or it's a stick. AFTER it's enchanted it becomes a wand, NOT before. If you use that stick as a weapon, have fun. If enchant it then use it as a wand, sure. I'm not arguing that by RAW quick draw doesn't work after you've enchanted it. I'm arguing that it doesn't make sense that you could quick draw it before by saying "I use a stick as my weapon", but can't afterward since you've enchanted it as a wand. This is COMPLETELY SEPARATE from the point of what enchantment type you use.

No-one would argue that enchanting a quarterstaff to be a stave requires Craft Magic Arms and Armor, because that's not what that feat does. If you were using that feat, it would become a +1 quarterstaff, not a staff of power. If you used Craft Staff it could become that staff of power, but you could not use that feat to make it a +1 quarterstaff. If you have both and have the money, you could do both.

As I said, the type of enchantment feat you use depends SOLELY on the function, NOT on the item it's placed on. The only exception is that some items must have a certain shape, but that shape is NOT exclusive to those items. A quarterstaff and a stave have the same shape. A tiny club and a wand have the same shape. A rod and a metal club have the same shape.

Back to house-rule territory:
Also, what's to stop a player from treating the wand as an improvised weapon to draw it? Would you stop that? What if they had catch off-guard?

To summarize, I have two completely separate points:

1) Preventing quick-draw from being used with wands doesn't make sense, but by RAW is correct.

2) Enchanting an item to be a wand ALWAYS takes Craft Wand, and nothing else, even if that item happens to look like a club. Enchanting a staff ALWAYS takes Craft Staff, and nothing else, even if that item happens to look like a quarterstaff. This has always been true and likely always will be true. Stop trying to confuse people with you "create a wand with Craft Arms and Armor" nonsense.


StabbittyDoom wrote:
I'm not arguing that by RAW quick draw doesn't work after you've enchanted it. I'm arguing that it doesn't make sense that you could quick draw it before by saying "I use a stick as my weapon", but can't afterward since you've enchanted it as a wand.

Oh, then we have no disagreement :) That wasn't what your previous posts implied though:

Quote:
Debate or not, they haven't errata'd it so it's still RAW.

EDIT: Oh, and you can't use it as a weapon really. A wand weighs max 1 ounce. A small club weighs 1.5 (24 ounces) pounds, and if we extrapolate the 1/2 weight rule, a fine one weighs 3 ounces.

So wands are really, really thin and light. You can't have a wand-club.

But I agree that there's no sense in "I can draw a 3 lbs club as a free action, and a 1 ounce stick as a move action". Unless there is maybe some sort of additional movement required, such as with potions where you open it. Maybe wand drawing requires something else, some special movement? I dunno, maybe something could be fluffed up to make the RAW makes sense.

But I agree that it's a bit weird now.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Wands and crafting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion