Gnoll CR


Rules Questions


A core gnoll has cr 1 and no levels in any class...

so a 1st lv warrior gnoll is still cr 1?
so a 5th lv sorcerer gnoll is cr 6?

Adding a level npc warrior vs a level in fighter, reduce level of warrior by 1 before calculating cr, right?

Dark Archive

My advice: CR was a terrible idea and micro-manages things way too much. I'd compare the gnoll to another cr 1 race: drow nobles. You can find the explanation there about CR and such. As I understand it, NPC vs PC levels don't affect CR. If you spent your level on commoner, that's your own fault. at least RAW, and IMO


beholderbob wrote:

A core gnoll has cr 1 and no levels in any class...

so a 1st lv warrior gnoll is still cr 1?
so a 5th lv sorcerer gnoll is cr 6?

Adding a level npc warrior vs a level in fighter, reduce level of warrior by 1 before calculating cr, right?

The "official" calling on this is that with NPC levels you subtract -2 to -3 from the levels before adding the remainder to CR, or with PC class levels you subtract 1 from them before adding the difference.

I've found that putting one level of barbarian on everything is definitely not a 0 CR difference. I'd suggest assuming they were of 1 CR higher in either case.

Shadow Lodge Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8

Madcap Storm King wrote:
beholderbob wrote:

A core gnoll has cr 1 and no levels in any class...

so a 1st lv warrior gnoll is still cr 1?
so a 5th lv sorcerer gnoll is cr 6?

Adding a level npc warrior vs a level in fighter, reduce level of warrior by 1 before calculating cr, right?

The "official" calling on this is that with NPC levels you subtract -2 to -3 from the levels before adding the remainder to CR, or with PC class levels you subtract 1 from them before adding the difference.

I've found that putting one level of barbarian on everything is definitely not a 0 CR difference. I'd suggest assuming they were of 1 CR higher in either case.

That's for NPCs without racial hit dice, or whose CR is determined solely by class levels.

For Gnolls, you'd want to use the Adding Class Levels rules from the Monster Advancement section of the Bestiary.

EDIT: Also remember that calculating CR isn't an exact science. Compare the result to other creatures in the same CR band +-1 and see how it compares before settling on a final result.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gnoll CR All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions