Lycanthropes and feat prerequisites


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

This is something I've always gotten a little tripped up on, and never quite explored to getting a definitive answer. To put it simply, if a creature has multiple set forms that it can change into at will (such as lycanthropes), with different abilities depending on form, can it qualify for feast whose prerequisites include abilities only found in certain forms?

What spurred me to finally ask this question was the curiosity if a were-constrictor snake could take the Final Embrace line of feats, which requires the Constrict special attack, which it possess in animal and hybrid forms, but not base creautre form.

P.S. On a related note regarding the use of Constrict, if you can make a grapple check to maintain a grapple multiple times a turn via Greater Grapple and Rapid Grappler, would Constrict activate on each successful grapple check, potentially allowing for three constrict attacks a turn, in addition to the the effects of the grapple check?


I believe that the answer is yes, but cannot use those feats in any form that does not meet the prerequisits.


In addition to the question presented in the original post, I have another question regarding Lycanthropes.

The CR of a lycanthrope is either the base creature or the base animal's CR +1. While Pathfinder doesn't really use the terminoogy of ECL like D&D 3.5 did, it does imply in the Monsters as PCs section that CR is generally equivilent to character level should a player make a monster PC. This isn't hard and fast, as it tells GMs to carefully examine balance, but is mentioned as a guideline

So if a 1st level character were to be a natural lycanthrope of an exotic lycanthrope (since it can be of any animal) of, say, a CR 4 animal, that would make him effectively an 5th level character, going by the CR guidlines of Monsters as PCs, if Challenge Rating = Character Level equivilent. Now, going by this equivilency, would that mean that upon taking the 2nd level of a character class, he's still equivilent to an 5th level character, as his equivilent CR is that of base animal (which is higher than his) +1?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lycanthropes and feat prerequisites All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.