A thing about grapple


Rules Questions


I have a lvl 7 Barbarian Brutal Pugilist centered on Grapple and Beast Totems...

Str 17
Dex 13
Con 16
Int 10
Wis 13
Cha 10
(yeah, i have 3 odd numbers)

Feats: Improved Unarmed Strike, Improved Grapple, Greater Grapple, Power Attack, Extra Rage, Extra Rage Power (Scent).
Rage Powers: Animalistic Fury, Beast Totem (Lesser & Normal), Scent

I wanna get some things straight:

1 - When I succed in my FIRST grapple check (succesfull touch attack + succesfull grapple check) I don't deal damage. I just give my enemy the Grappled condition (The condition doesn't affect me because I'm a 7 lvl Brutal Pugilist)

2 - The second turn. If I fail the first check. I loose the grapple? Because thanks to my Greater Grapple I can make two checks...

3 - The grappled enemy can make a full attack in his turn. Does he have some kind of weapon restriction? besides the obvios Two-Handed weapons (light weapons and natural attacks for example)

4 - When I have a grappled foe I can mantain the grapple with a MOVE ACTION. If I have another enemy in range I can use my STANDARD ACTION to grapple that other foe right? (with the -4 penalty for using only one hand)

5 - When an enemy grapples me and I plan on reverse it. Does my reverse grapple check is a MOVE ACTION or a STANDARD ACTION? (due to my Greater Grapple Feat)

6 - When I have my enemy pinned. Do I still choose if he can speak?

7 - When you PIN someone. Is he on the floor? Because besides a Full Nelson Manouver I cannot imagine how to PIN something if you are not crushing it in the floor...

8 - Being a Brutal Pugilist I ignore the penaltys for the grappled condition. But when I PIN someone I add to the condition loosing my DEX bonus. Does my Brutal Pugilist ability cancel this also?

9 - When I choose to MOVE a grappled enemy. Does he provokes attack of opportunity if I have an adjacent ally?

Thanks


1 - When I succed in my FIRST grapple check (succesfull touch attack + succesfull grapple check) I don't deal damage. I just give my enemy the Grappled condition (The condition doesn't affect me because I'm a 7 lvl Brutal Pugilist)

Once you are grappling an opponent, a successful check allows you to continue grappling the foe, and also allows you to perform one of the following actions (as part of the standard action spent to maintain the grapple).

-So the first grapple check doesn't do damage, it just establishes a hold.

2 - The second turn. If I fail the first check. I loose the grapple? Because thanks to my Greater Grapple I can make two checks...

-You can make two checks. As long as one of them succeeds you're still fine.

This feat allows you to make two grapple checks each round (to move, harm, or pin your opponent), but you are not required to make two checks. You only need to succeed at one of these checks to maintain the grapple.

3 - The grappled enemy can make a full attack in his turn. Does he have some kind of weapon restriction? besides the obvios Two-Handed weapons (light weapons and natural attacks for example)

-The weapons can be natural, light, or ONE HANDED. Grapple is not nearly as severe as it was in 3.5, someone call pull out their longsword and beat you in the head with it. The only thing they can't do is use a two handed weapon or two handed fight (unless they're a freaky alchemist with three arms or something)

4 - When I have a grappled foe I can maintain the grapple with a MOVE ACTION. If I have another enemy in range I can use my STANDARD ACTION to grapple that other foe right? (with the -4 penalty for using only one hand)

-I would say that if you plan on grappling another foe you have to take the -4 for only having 1 hand free on the first grapple check. You can't use a hand twice like that (getting the lack of penalty for it and then using it as an independant grab)

5 - When an enemy grapples me and I plan on reverse it. Does my reverse grapple check is a MOVE ACTION or a STANDARD ACTION? (due to my Greater Grapple Feat)

Once you have grappled a creature, maintaining the grapple is a move action. This feat allows you to make two grapple checks each round (to move, harm, or pin your opponent), but you are not required to make two checks. You only need to succeed at one of these checks to maintain the grapple.

Normal: Maintaining a grapple is a standard action.

Technically it would be a standard action, because you're not maintaining a grapple, however once you've reversed it you can still pound them with a move action.

6 - When I have my enemy pinned. Do I still choose if he can speak?

Pinned: A pinned creature is tightly bound and can take few actions. A pinned creature cannot move and is flat-footed. A pinned character also takes an additional –4 penalty to his Armor Class. A pinned creature is limited in the actions that it can take. A pinned creature can always attempt to free itself, usually through a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check. A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component. A pinned character who attempts to cast a spell must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level) or lose the spell. Pinned is a more severe version of grappled, and their effects do not stack.

-nope. they still have the option to cast a stilled spell. ALso keep in mind that unlike 3.5 sorcerers can use still spell in a grapple.

7 - When you PIN someone. Is he on the floor? Because besides a Full Nelson Manouver I cannot imagine how to PIN something if you are not crushing it in the floor...

They're not prone, they're just in a complete bearhug , full nelson, headlock, or in the case of a non humanoid grappler, stuck in the creatures mouth as a chew toy or wraped up in tentacles.

8 - Being a Brutal Pugilist I ignore the penaltys for the grappled condition. But when I PIN someone I add to the condition loosing my DEX bonus. Does my Brutal Pugilist ability cancel this also?

-Mayby. Pinned is a more severe version of grappled, it would be up to your DM if the immunity extended. I could see the argument either way.

9 - When I choose to MOVE a grappled enemy. Does he provokes attack of opportunity if I have an adjacent ally?

Move: You can move both yourself and your target up to half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can place your target in any square adjacent to you. If you attempt to place your foe in a hazardous location, such as in a wall of fire or over a pit, the target receives a free attempt to break your grapple with a +4 bonus.

Moving normally provokes, it doesn't say it doesn't provoke, so it provokes.


1) Starting a grapple no longer requires the initial touch attack. It is just one roll of your CMB (plus grapple relevant modifiers from, for example, Improved/Greater Grapple) versus their CMD (again, plus grapple relevant modifiers if they have any).

This first check does not do damage, no. If you still have a move action left, though, then you can use that to maintain the grapple and deal damage, move, or pin them.

2-5) All is as BNW said.

6) Ultimate Combat introduced the Chokehold feat. It lets you make a grapple check on someone you have grappled at a -5 penalty to pin them in a chokehold. While in a chokehold they cannot speak (and thus no casting with verbal components) and begin to suffocate.

7) Pinned is not prone.

8) Brutal Pugilist does not help you avoid the penalties for pinning somebody.

9) As BNW said, both of your movements provoke, as appropriate.


Thanks a lot!

I don't know if I got this right...

If I grapple someone with just a standard action, that same turn I can make another check thanks to my Greater Grapple?? so I could Grapple and PIN someone in just one round???


Vladislak wrote:

Thanks a lot!

I don't know if I got this right...

If I grapple someone with just a standard action, that same turn I can make another check thanks to my Greater Grapple?? so I could Grapple and PIN someone in just one round???

If they're dumb enough to start the round standing next to a big hulking badger yes, you can grab them and pin them in one round.

The only movement you can do though is a 5 foot step, since you need both your standard and move actions.


BigNorseWolf wrote:


If they're dumb enough to start the round standing next to a big hulking badger yes, you can grab them and pin them in one round.

The only movement you can do though is a 5 foot step, since you need both your standard and move actions.

The Lunge feat has become really important right now...

Another thing (Sorry):

I understand I can use POWER ATTACK with my grapple from the feat description:
"You can choose to take a –1 penalty on all melee attack rolls AND COMBAT MANOUVER CHECKS to gain a +2 bonus on all melee damage rolls. "

Am I correct on this?

And if so... can I score a CRITICAL HIT with a grapple? Is a natural 1 a fumble on the check?


Thanks :) I found it on another post


Take a look at my grapple flowcharts. They answer most of your questions :)


Eridan,

quick doubt:

When I have someone pinned... he doesn't have attacks of opportunity because he cannot move...

So i could use ANY maneuver against it as a standard action... like Disarm or Trip... without fearing retaliation...

also he would have his DEX denied so his CMD would be reduced...

am I correct on this?


Also, you didn't ask, but animal fury allows you to get a free attack before you attempt to maintain a grapple, and if you hit gives a +2 bonus.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A thing about grapple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions