
Mogart |

If you are a spontaneous caster who has level 1 and 2 spells, can you cast a level 1 spell in a level 2 spell slot. I could not find the text that says you can, and I could not convince my DM that this was correct.
Situation, my useful spells for a certain situation were all level 1, I tried to use a level 1 spell in a level 2 spell slot as a spontaneous caster. I was told that this was wrong, and that this has never been allowed in the history of the game.
Is this correct?

Lathiira |

If you are a spontaneous caster who has level 1 and 2 spells, can you cast a level 1 spell in a level 2 spell slot. I could not find the text that says you can, and I could not convince my DM that this was correct.
Situation, my useful spells for a certain situation were all level 1, I tried to use a level 1 spell in a level 2 spell slot as a spontaneous caster. I was told that this was wrong, and that this has never been allowed in the history of the game.
Is this correct?
You may use lower level spells in higher level spell slots. Please consult page 218 of the Core Rulebook, chapter on Magic, under Arcane Spells, Spell Slots:
"A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell."
Edit: Also see p. 178 of the 3.5 Player's Handbook.