Urban Ranger and Favored Community


Rules Questions


So...

OGC wrote:

Favored Community (Ex)

At 3rd level, the urban Ranger forms a bond with a community. While inside the limits of this community, he gains a +2 bonus on initiative checks and Knowledge (local), Perception, Stealth, and Survival skill checks. An urban Ranger traveling through his favored community leaves no trail and cannot be tracked (although he may leave a trail if he so desires).

At 8th level, and every five levels thereafter, an urban Ranger may select an additional favored community. In addition, at each such interval, the skill bonus and initiative bonus in any one favored community (including the one just selected, if so desired) increases by +2. For the purposes of this ability, a community is any settlement consisting of 100 or more individuals. The community may be larger than this minimum. Outlying farms, fields, and houses are not considered part of a community.

This ability replaces favored terrain.

What actually defines the limits of the community?

In my case, I'm playing an Urban Ranger in CoT, so Westcrown. I'm assuming that includes sewers. Would that mean as soon as I'm outside the city walls?


It states that outlying farms and whatnot aren't considered part of the community. But if there was another district built against the walls of the city, that would count, as long as it's part of the community.

Yes, the sewers are part of the city.


Piggybacking on this thread since it's a similar question...

Where do you draw the vertical limits for the favored community? Would a natural cave beneath the city count? Or a manmade one? A smuggler's tunnel? If there's a 100-foot-deep lake in the community, does the U.R. still get their bonus if they're swimming at the bottom of it?

How about up above? If you're riding a griffon 20 feet off the ground, are you still in the community? How about at 100 feet? How about in an airship at 2000 feet?

Spoiler:
Specifically, my GM is trying to figure out whether the tunnels dug out by the tieflings in Bastards of Erebus count as part of Westcrown for our Urban Ranger.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Urban Ranger and Favored Community All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions