UMD & Wands


Rules Questions


My current gaming group has been using UMD in the D&D fashion, where if you fail your UMD check, you loose the charge from the wand. We never really looked it up before, and just assumed that it still worked that way.

However, when I looked in the pathfinder book, it does not say that the charge is expended.

Can someone confirm for me that using Use Magic Devices skill check that fails doesn't burn a charge from a wand?

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 32

No such rule exists in Pathfinder. It would be a reasonable house rule.

Paizo Employee Developer

Correct, failure just means you don't activate it, and a wand that isn't activated doesn't spend a charge. The only consequence is a natrual 1 that fails, which means the UMDer can't use that wand for a day.

Note that a natural 1 that succeeds has no penalty (unless you're activating blindly... in that case, kaboom)


Actually, unless you also miss by 10+, a natural 1 when Activating Blindly has no additional penalty, and if you have a skill bonus of +24 or more, you can activate blindly with automatic success (assuming DC 25, some stuff have higher DC).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / UMD & Wands All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions