| Bascaria |
I'm sure this has been answered before, but:
If a character wielding a lance normally deals 1d8+5, while mounted and charging, does it deal 2d8+5 or 2d8+10?
2d8+10. Something which only doubles the weapon die (like vital strike) will specifically say so, liked this:
Roll the weapon’s damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength, weapon abilities (such as flaming), precision-based damage, and other damage bonuses. These extra weapon damage dice are not multiplied on a critical hit, but are added to the total.
Lances, on the other hand, say:
A lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount. While mounted, you can wield a lance with one hand.
That is, it just says "double damage." This multiplies the weapon dice and all STATIC bonuses (strength bonus, power attack bonus, enhancement bonus, weapon specialization bonus, etc.), but not any non-weapon dice VARIABLE bonuses (energy damage from flaming, frost, etc).
This doubling also stacks with critical hits according to the typical critical hit rules. That is, a charging lance which crits (X3 multiplier) will do X4 damage, not X5 or X6. X2 + X3 = X4. You don't double for the charge then triple for the crit. So a crit, charging, mounted lance which deals d8+5 base will deal 4d8+20.
Spirited charge lets you deal X2 damage on a mounted charge or X3 on a mounted lance charge. This already takes into account the normal X2 that a mounted lance charge has. So a mounted lance spirited charge which does d8+5 base will do 3d8+15. On a crit this will do 5d8+25.
That was more information than you asked for, but hopefully helpful.