THW and combat maneuvers


Rules Questions


Say I am using a spiked chain to trip an enemy since it is a two-handed weapon do I apply 1-1/2 str mod on the CMB check?


No.

CMB is the equivalent of a normal attack roll. Both don't apply 1-1/2 (or 1/2 for off hand) to their check.


Tripping also does not do any damage.


Mojorat wrote:
Tripping also does not do any damage.

No, but CMB does include Str mod so I can see why the question came up.

However, the 1 and 1/2 Str mod applies only to DMG, not to attack rolls so no, it would not apply to CMB either as the roll is to hit and has nothing to do with damage. I believe there may have been a little confusion with that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / THW and combat maneuvers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions