Quick Draw, Move Action, 5' Step


Rules Questions


Looking at:

Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move.

Then I look at:

Take 5-Foot Step

You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.
------------
So...If I have a +1 BAB, can I draw my weapon during the 5'step as a free action? I'm thinking not or if yes, I'm not sure of the use of Quick Draw except in the most odd of circumstances

Liberty's Edge

No, you can't draw a weapon as part of a 5' step. When it mentions a "regular move", it's talking about a move action used to move (though, admittedly, it's not very clear on that).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quick Draw, Move Action, 5' Step All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions