Size Spells


Rules Questions


When casting a spell like enlarge person do you follow the spell exactly no matter the starting size? For example if you had a huge humanoid would you still only take an additional -1 size penalty to to-hit and AC (total -3) when you increase to gargantuan, or do you follow the normal size adjustment of -2 (total -4)?

When you change size do you apply the size stat alterations in addition to the spell changes? My inclination, and the consensus in an older thread, is that you do not apply anything but what the spell says. Given this, what happens when you cast alter self as a huge creature? Do you just go directly to medium (or small), not passing any stat adjustments for size beyond the spell's +2 str (or dex)?


You follow the specifics of the spell. If the developers had wanted you to follow normal size changes they would have said so.


That's pretty much what I though- thank you for the response.

So, for a specific clarification, could a synthesist summoner with the huge evolution use alter self to return to door friendly medium size for a bit while retaining a large strength score?


Momar wrote:

That's pretty much what I though- thank you for the response.

So, for a specific clarification, could a synthesist summoner with the huge evolution use alter self to return to door friendly medium size for a bit while retaining a large strength score?

RAW I believe so.

Even if a DM wanted to say logically it doesn't work, but the Eidolon's large and huge evolution bonuses to strength are not even size bonuses. So they wouldn't lose them for changing sizes, man the summoner have all these weird exception to rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Size Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions