Burst effects and Cover question


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

I find contradictory or difficult to resolve statements in the PRD regarding how Cover affects burst effects.

Let me set the stage first. In Pathfinder Society I play a cleric of Asmodeus and use a negative energy channeling. Channeling is a burst effect.

PRD wrote:
Cover and Reflex Saves: Cover grants you a +2 bonus on Reflex saves against attacks that originate or burst out from a point on the other side of the cover from you.
PRD wrote:

Line of Effect: A line of effect is a straight, unblocked path that indicates what a spell can affect. A line of effect is canceled by a solid barrier. It's like line of sight for ranged weapons, except that it's not blocked by fog, darkness, and other factors that limit normal sight.

You must have a clear line of effect to any target that you cast a spell on or to any space in which you wish to create an effect. You must have a clear line of effect to the point of origin of any spell you cast.

A burst, cone, cylinder, or emanation spell affects only an area, creature, or object to which it has line of effect from its origin (a spherical burst's center point, a cone-shaped burst's starting point, a cylinder's circle, or an emanation's point of origin).

An otherwise solid barrier with a hole of at least 1 square foot through it does not block a spell's line of effect. Such an opening means that the 5-foot length of wall containing the hole is no longer considered a barrier for purposes of a spell's line of effect.

So the pertinent part is bolded. So for bursts we use the center of the origin square, not a corner.

PRD wrote:
A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can’t see. It can’t affect creatures with total cover from its point of origin (in other words, its effects don’t extend around corners). The default shape for a burst effect is a sphere, but some burst spells are specifically described as cone-shaped. A burst’s area defines how far from the point of origin the spell’s effect extends.

So, if you cannot draw a line from the center of the origin square to any part of the target square without crossing an impeding line or structure, the target has total cover and cannot be affected. IF you CAN draw any line to a square, but at least one line crosses an impeding square or object, it just has cover.

If the target has cover it would receive a Reflex save at a +2 bonus against the normal DC. Then if it failed the Reflex save it must make a Will save as normal.

I am including a diagram of this situation because it is complicated to describe.

Picture of Energy Burst Effect

Does this seem correct? Do I have the nuts and bolts down right?


Gaining a +2 on Reflex Saves from Cover would only matter if the spell/ability/etc granted a Reflex Save in the First place. Such as a Fireball.

Channel Energy requires a Will Save, not a reflex save, so it is not really affected by anything less than Total Cover.

Your diagram is *almost correct*

The Goblin Warrior covered by your Ally does not have Cover. He has Soft Cover. This only applies to Attacks and grants no bonus to Reflex Saves.

Liberty's Edge

Krome wrote:
So the pertinent part is bolded. So for bursts we use the center of the origin square, not a corner.

Not quite. You use a corner. You select that point (one of your corners), and then form a sphere from that.

"Burst, Emanation, or Spread: Most spells that affect an area function as a burst, an emanation, or a spread. In each case, you select the spell's point of origin and measure its effect from that point."

Regardless of the shape of the area, you select the point where the spell originates, but otherwise you don't control which creatures or objects the spell affects. The point of origin of a spell is always a grid intersection. When determining whether a given creature is within the area of a spell, count out the distance from the point of origin in squares just as you do when moving a character or when determining the range for a ranged attack. The only difference is that instead of counting from the center of one square to the center of the next, you count from intersection to intersection.

Otherwise, as Stynkk has said, cover only applies if the effect has a reflex save, and soft cover doesn't apply.

Grand Lodge

Howie23 wrote:
Krome wrote:
So the pertinent part is bolded. So for bursts we use the center of the origin square, not a corner.

Not quite. You use a corner. You select that point (one of your corners), and then form a sphere from that.

"Burst, Emanation, or Spread: Most spells that affect an area function as a burst, an emanation, or a spread. In each case, you select the spell's point of origin and measure its effect from that point."

Regardless of the shape of the area, you select the point where the spell originates, but otherwise you don't control which creatures or objects the spell affects. The point of origin of a spell is always a grid intersection. When determining whether a given creature is within the area of a spell, count out the distance from the point of origin in squares just as you do when moving a character or when determining the range for a ranged attack. The only difference is that instead of counting from the center of one square to the center of the next, you count from intersection to intersection.

Otherwise, as Stynkk has said, cover only applies if the effect has a reflex save, and soft cover doesn't apply.

OOPS! You are 100% right. I have no idea now upon rereading it, why I thought it was the center of the square. It is pretty darn obvious it is the grid intersection. Thanks!

Grand Lodge

Stynkk wrote:

Gaining a +2 on Reflex Saves from Cover would only matter if the spell/ability/etc granted a Reflex Save in the First place. Such as a Fireball.

Channel Energy requires a Will Save, not a reflex save, so it is not really affected by anything less than Total Cover.

Your diagram is *almost correct*

The Goblin Warrior covered by your Ally does not have Cover. He has Soft Cover. This only applies to Attacks and grants no bonus to Reflex Saves.

Ahh I see that now. Only blocked by a SOLID barrier! Got ya! Thanks. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Burst effects and Cover question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions