When is casting considered casting?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If I use a scroll, staff, wand, or spell-like ability, am I considered to be casting a spell for the purposes of abilities like Spell Perfection or metmagic rods?


I'd say no to scroll or wand, as those are spell-trigger and spell-completion magic items. An argument could be made for a staff, since it derives all it's DC's and such from your caster level and ability modifier. The same could be said for an SLA.

Dark Archive

FAQ post on this. Apparently staves don't let you use such abilities either - SLAs don't appear to be addressed but I'd argue that the latter is distinct; there would be little point to Quicken Spell-Like Ability and its ilk if they could simply take Quicken Spell instead.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Nekyia wrote:
FAQ post on this. Apparently staves don't let you use such abilities either - SLAs don't appear to be addressed but I'd argue that the latter is distinct; there would be little point to Quicken Spell-Like Ability and its ilk if they could simply take Quicken Spell instead.

Thanks for the link.

I actually read a developer somewhere saying the only thing keeping people/monsters with spell-like abilities from using metamagic, was the absence of spell slots to put the increased power into.

This means you CAN use normal metamagic with spell-like abilities, albeit only if it increases the level slot by +0 (such as with Merciful Spell).


Ravingdork wrote:

I actually read a developer somewhere saying the only thing keeping people/monsters with spell-like abilities from using metamagic, was the absence of spell slots to put the increased power into.

Well, that, and creatures with SLAs don't cast spells.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Quantum Steve wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

I actually read a developer somewhere saying the only thing keeping people/monsters with spell-like abilities from using metamagic, was the absence of spell slots to put the increased power into.

Well, that, and creatures with SLAs don't cast spells.

Or rather, they don't USUALLY also cast spells. :P

Except for where specifically mentioned, spell-like abiltiies work just like spells in every way. That's explicitly stated in the rules for spell-like abilities. That's why a developer thought you could use metamagic with them, but for the slot problem.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When is casting considered casting? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions