Ultimate Summoner question


Rules Questions


Really quickly, could a summoner take both the synthesist and the broodmaster archetypes? As I understand it, if none of the level replacements overlap, which would make it a legal choice, though it seems like it would be a bit funky in game. What do people think about allowing a summoner to take both and if so how would you GM it?

Grand Lodge

gorditobandito wrote:
Really quickly, could a summoner take both the synthesist and the broodmaster archetypes? As I understand it, if none of the level replacements overlap, which would make it a legal choice, though it seems like it would be a bit funky in game. What do people think about allowing a summoner to take both and if so how would you GM it?

This question should be in the regular rules forum, not Pathfinder Society. In Pathfinder Society Broodmaster isn't even legal by itself.

Grand Lodge

gorditobandito wrote:
Really quickly, could a summoner take both the synthesist and the broodmaster archetypes? As I understand it, if none of the level replacements overlap, which would make it a legal choice, though it seems like it would be a bit funky in game. What do people think about allowing a summoner to take both and if so how would you GM it?

As Auke points out the Broodmaster is not legal for PFS play.

Otherwise, as per page 72 of the Advanced Players Guide:

Quote:
A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the core class as another alternate class feature.

Assuming that is the case it would be fine, if the Broodmaster were legal.

Shadow Lodge

gorditobandito wrote:
Really quickly, could a summoner take both the synthesist and the broodmaster archetypes? As I understand it, if none of the level replacements overlap, which would make it a legal choice, though it seems like it would be a bit funky in game. What do people think about allowing a summoner to take both and if so how would you GM it?

As was already pointed out, broodmaster isn't pfs legal anyway, but no they don't work together. The Fused Eidolon and Eidolon Brood abilities both replace the Summoner's standard Eidolon ability so they can't be used together.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ultimate Summoner question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.