Wizards, Buckers, and Rods. (Oh my)


Rules Questions


I think I have the right of this, but I'd like to generally poll the community to make sure I'm correct.

I've a low AC spell caster and am trying to find a way to boost it a little without going and spending 5k for 1 point of upgrade.
At least one feasible option seems to be a mithril buckler.

Bucklers have a 5% spell failure chance and a -1 APC. Both of which are eliminated by making it Mithril.

As long as my other hand is free it seems I can cast spells with this shield without limitation. If I'm mistaken in that, please let me know as it renders the rest of the post moot :).

Assuming that is correct though: what happens when you also try to use a metamagic rod?

We used to play that you could use a buckler and hold an item in that hand too- but I can't seem to find that in the rules. Would the caster be prohibited from holding the rod in the "buckler hand" just as they can wield/hold a weapon in it?

Metamagic rods specifically say they must be wielded- not just held on one's person.

So it seems:
An arcane spell caster can, with one hand free, use the other for a mithril buckler without penalty.

They could also use the buckler hand to wield a rod but doing so would negate the buckler's AC for that round.

Is that correct?

What about "holding" but not wielding an item? Such as a torch, a rock, or just holding a Rod but not using it that round? Would holding something (without actively "using it") trigger the NO AC as well? Or us that just quibbling with the difference between "using" and "wielding"?

Thoughts?

thanks in advance.

-S


Bucklers are buckled onto your forearm, so you have a free hand.

I personally think the mithril reduction of penalties for spellcasting and armor check is hard to explain, but it's RAW.

I don't see a problem with this. You can hold things in your buckled hand, you have no spellcasting or armor check penalties by RAW if it's mithril.

Go for it.

Grand Lodge

If you actively use an item in your buckler hand you lose it's AC value until your next turn. Using a rod is more involved than just holding it.


The description of rods says you have to be "holding it" unless the specific rod gives more details about how to use it. The metamagic rods themselves are specifically listed as "use-activated" which generally means there is no action necessary to use them.

I don't think using the rod would negate the AC bonus. A wand, yes, a staff, probabbly, other rods than metamagic rods, perhaps.

But metamagic rods are simply held.


You can wield weapons in the same hand as a buckler, you just take a -2 to attack and lose the buckler's AC when you attack.

You can also use your buckler hand to cast spells, but again you lose the AC.

So, it doesn't matter which hand the rod is in, you can cast just fine, but you'll lose the buckler's AC.

Also, if you wield a weapon in your buckler hand, you don't lose the AC unless you actually attack with it. Similarly, you wouldn't lose the AC for using a rod, unless you actually used it that round.


Quantum Steve wrote:

You can wield weapons in the same hand as a buckler, you just take a -2 to attack and lose the buckler's AC when you attack.

You're a bit off here.

buckler wrote:
Benefit: You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's Armor Class bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's Armor Class bonus until your next turn. You can't make a shield bash with a buckler.

There seems to be nothing here about using that hand to hold things. For example you could hold a potion in that hand and fight without penalty and receive full AC bonus.

Likewise you could during your turn draw an item with that hand and not lose the AC bonus.

I conclude that you can easily hold a metamagic rod in that hand, cast with the other and not lose the AC bonus.

-James

Silver Crusade

My interpretation of how the metamagic rods are used is you channel the spell through the rod when casting. This is why you cannot get the benefit of two rods at the same time.

If this is some sort of touch spell, the buckler interferes with the casting enough to give you a penalty to your attack roll as well as losing the shield benefit of the buckler.

But that is just my interpretation.

Sovereign Court

Go for it


Bucklers are NOT worn on the forearm as that would make them completely useless. You might as well say you can wield swords with your feet. Bucklers are held/gripped with the hand.

(Technically wielding a shield also requires a hand as you need to grip it to block incoming attacks, keep it from moving when it is struck, and then use it to open your opponents defenses. This is just one of those D&D-isms where game designers show the same level of understanding about ancient arms and weapons similar to most cows understanding of the internal combustion engine.)


zend0g wrote:

Bucklers are NOT worn on the forearm as that would make them completely useless. You might as well say you can wield swords with your feet. Bucklers are held/gripped with the hand.

(Technically wielding a shield also requires a hand as you need to grip it to block incoming attacks, keep it from moving when it is struck, and then use it to open your opponents defenses. This is just one of those D&D-isms where game designers show the same level of understanding about ancient arms and weapons similar to most cows understanding of the internal combustion engine.)

Which is not relevant, because this is not the real world. In this world, "buckler" means a sheet of metal firmly attached to your arm.

Silver Crusade

zend0g wrote:

Bucklers are NOT worn on the forearm as that would make them completely useless. You might as well say you can wield swords with your feet. Bucklers are held/gripped with the hand.

(Technically wielding a shield also requires a hand as you need to grip it to block incoming attacks, keep it from moving when it is struck, and then use it to open your opponents defenses. This is just one of those D&D-isms where game designers show the same level of understanding about ancient arms and weapons similar to most cows understanding of the internal combustion engine.)

From the rules Archive (PRD)

Buckler: This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm. You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it. You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can't make a shield bash with a buckler.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizards, Buckers, and Rods. (Oh my) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.