Cantrips / Orisons, Magic Lineage, Heighten Spell and effects based on spell level


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

When you use heighten spell on a zero level spell you have chosen for magic lineage, do you end up with a zero level spell, castable at will, that counts as a first level spell for all effects based on spell level?
This would allow unlimited healing with the changed Glorious Heat (Link) or unlimited bardic performance with the changed Harmonic Spell (Link). And probably a few other effects, too.

An official clarification would thus be greatly appreciated.

Quote:

Heighten Spell (Metamagic)

You can cast spells as if they were a higher level.

Benefit: A heightened spell has a higher spell level than normal (up to a maximum of 9th level). Unlike other metamagic feats, Heighten Spell actually increases the effective level of the spell that it modifies. All effects dependent on spell level (such as saving throw DCs and ability to penetrate a lesser globe of invulnerability) are calculated according to the heightened level. The heightened spell is as difficult to prepare and cast as a spell of its effective level.

Quote:
Magical Lineage: One of your parents was a gifted spellcaster who not only used metamagic often, but also developed many magical items and perhaps even a new spell or two—and you have inherited a fragment of this greatness. Pick one spell when you choose this trait. When you apply metamagic feats to this spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spell's final adjusted level.


I thought I had seen somewhere that Heighten spell and Magical Lineage didn't work together, though I may well be wrong. Especially since hte language of Heighten Spell ("All effects dependent on spell level (such as saving throw DCs and ability to penetrate a lesser globe of invulnerability) are calculated according to the heightened level. The heightened spell is as difficult to prepare and cast as a spell of its effective level.") relies upon the spell's final level, and the Magical Lineage makes the spell's final level be 0th.

And also, the internal logic of your attempted loop fails, by the same standard. Since the spell is for all intents and purposes still a 0th level spell, it wouldn't allow the loophole you desired.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cantrips / Orisons, Magic Lineage, Heighten Spell and effects based on spell level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.