| CuriousGrappler |
I have a question dealing with hamatula strike.
I have a monk, I was wondering if at the very END of my flurry, unarmed, I would do a Hamatula strike and grapple my foe (I would have greater grapple at this time).
My question is, in the very next turn could I maintain the grapple and pin. While taking the -4 to maintain/grapple check (-2 if Im using the Hamatula Grasp) and then Pin, buffing up my party.
So I would at the end of my flurry, make it piercing attack, hamatula strike them, get a successful grapple check. Then on my next turn maintain the grapple (at -4 or -2) for extra dmg because my fist is lodged in their chest then Pin.
Rules are kind of vague on how the strike works. Im hoping I would have the flexibility to grapple at the end of my flurry and pin them on my next turn.
Thanks for any input yall have.
| Mojorat |
the feat does two things, 1 it let's you make a grapple attempt if you hit the target with a piercing g weapon and make a grapple attempt
2 it let's you make a grapple attempt and Maintain with said peircing weapon. the key here is you normally cannot grapple and use a weapon. so you could hit them with a polearm ( really what the feat is designed for) and make a grapple from 0 feet away.
at -4
the second option I'n no way benefits a monk.
so
round 1 monk flurries, hits target 4 times turns his last attack to piercing ( or uses a sai) gets a gapple.
monster fails to escape
round 2 monk either released andcrepeats thevflurry grapplevroutine. or maintains and does unarmed strike damage or pins or whatever. if the monk maintains hamatula strike does not matter /unless/ he wants. to use a piercing weapon to maintain the grapple. given the -4 there's no reason to.
I hopevthus makes sense.
| CuriousGrappler |
Aha, but it does benefit a monk! You cannot grapple in place of one of your flurry hits. Basically Im not a dmg dealer, Im a disabler. If my flurry has 4 hits. I would disarm, trip (and ki throw into flank), and the last two hits I would use my unarmed strikes as piercing attacks (through the hamatula feat) and grapple on my last hit. Basically what I want to do is be able to maintain the grapple on my very next turn and pin, so it gives the party an extra +4 to their attack roles, If I could maintain after the flurry it would save me a round instead of letting the grapple go beacuse it might not be a 'real grapple' and regrapple so I can pin on the next turn.
Then I thought if I could maintain the grapple and still do dmg to them if I grappled via Hamatula Strike (With hamatula grasp the penalty is only a -2 and gets you an extra 1d6 dmg.)
I dont want to flurry again, I want to include grapple in my flurry using these feats, maintain and pin on my next turn and letting the party ravage them.
Just wondering if it was possible.
| thepuregamer |
well from the looks of the feat,
Whenever you damage an opponent with a piercing weapon, you can immediately make a grapple check; success means the opponent is impaled on your weapon and you both gain the grappled condition. While the opponent is impaled, as an attack action you may make a grapple check on your turn at a -4 penalty to damage the opponent with your weapon, even if your weapon cannot normally be used in a grapple.
1. You can flurry and one or several of your sucessful attacks can become grapple attempts. So you hit, deal damage, and make a grapple attempt. If you succeed, you are both considered grappled.
On the next turn you can use an attack action to deal damage with your weapon or you can do any of the normal things you would normally do in a grapple( take a standard or move action to maintain a grapple and then possibly pin them).
If you have greater grapple, I think you could as a move action, pin your opponent and then as a standard action tie your opponent up. This would be on the 2nd round of things.
| Mojorat |
to Curious grappler. I divided hamatula strike into teo separate abilities. I agree the first is greatbfor a grappler. however for the second.
hitting with your weakest attack (so likely -5 or -10) does not always equate to sycedd. the -4 penalty is partially compensated by the +5 for being I'n control of a grapple.
to glutton. I do t have a page number but i says you can make an attack that can be done with one hand hand. this feat I think is the only way to use a weapon for initiating the grapple itself however. I do t think Amy weapons are listed as grappling.