Klar


Rules Questions


Is the klar supposed to be a light weapon? Can it be used with weapon finesse?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Axl wrote:
Is the klar supposed to be a light weapon? Can it be used with weapon finesse?

Nope; a klar is a one-handed weapon. it can't be used with Weapon Finesse as a result.


Okay, thanks.

In the Campaign Setting, the text included "For the purposes of penalties on attack rolls, treat a klar as a light weapon." Has that been changed?


Axl wrote:

Okay, thanks.

In the Campaign Setting, the text included "For the purposes of penalties on attack rolls, treat a klar as a light weapon." Has that been changed?

I think that means that it can be treated as a light handed weapon for the purpose of off-hand attack penalties. It's essentially a light shield with bone spikes and/or horns so that would make sense. In all other respects I believe it is treated as a one-handed weapon.

Grand Lodge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Exactly how much does it cost to have a masterwork Klar? Price it as weapon, a shield, or both?


I just hit the FAQ button. I can not tell if it is a weapon or shield primarily.

Grand Lodge

On it. Pricing it for special materials is kind of screwy too.


You could either/or for masterwork or go for both like a double weapon.
At least that's how I think I'd do it.

Grand Lodge

What about mithral? Do you price it as a shield, or a weapon?

The Exchange

it's like a spiked shield....a shield with pointy bits on it that can be used to hurt. You enchant the shield part separately and the weapon part separate. Same for materials. 2 separate parts so if going with mithral for the shield part,price it that way and the shield is mithral not the pointy bits. If you want adamantine on the weapon part, price it that way with the shield not being adamantine. If you want both parts to be the same you price for each and add it up.

Grand Lodge

The thing is, a spiked shield is two parts. You can have a mithral shield, with adamantine shield spikes. A klar is a whole deal. Enchanting is easy, because you have clear rules for it. When it comes to special materials and masterwork, well, this item is not as clear.

The Exchange

"Traditionally a Shoanti blade bound to the skull of a horned spirestalker (a breed of Storval Plateau giant gecko), in recent years the armorers of southern Varisia have started crafting these bladed shields from iron."
Sounds like a blade attached to a shield to me or 2 separate enchanting....where does it state that a Klar follows any different rules than a spiked shield for enchanting or materials?

Grand Lodge

Well, alright.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Klar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.